Come in the coastal south-west of Portugal, Odemira and help us with our farm, the horses and with practic tasks

Country

Portugal

updated   Last minute

Favourited 154 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live with 4 Horses, 1 dog, 3 cats and, since 4 weeks, with 30 goats at a wonderful place in the coastal region of the south west of Portugal. We are surrounded from hills, forest, valleys, a small river, cork- and olivetrees in a untouched nature and peacefull atmosphere of a 20 ha-farm. Our project is to work with our horses, restaurate our beautiful old portugiese farmhouse and tame our wilderness. We are fully independant from communal facilities, we have solar-current and our own water.
    We are 10 minutes by car from the next village where you can buy all things you need. There are busses for a comfortable transfer to the Beaches.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They can learn a lot about the typical portugeese region we live in, about the wilderness, their plants ,corktrees and olivetrees just as well as a lot about horses and natural horsekeeping.

  • Help

    Help

    You should like to do the gardening, weeding and cultivating the vegetable garden, also to embellish parts around the house by weeding , clearing regions from stones, taking care for flowers, herbs and fruittrees, painting the outside walls with natural colours, making paths and small walls with natural stones.You should help us in general maintanance, householding, cleaning house and the terraces.
    There are tasks around the horsekeeping like cleaning the pastures and shelters from horse-dung, feeding, taking care for the fences and repair if needed, clearing and tidy up some reagions of the meadows from stones and bushes. You should help us with simple constructions for example sun-shelters for cars or the restauration/repairing of an old camper. The most important work is currently clearing and cultivating parts of our corktree forest with its thicket of macchia and blackberries with power-saw and building a new horsefence. Therefore we prefere in the moment male volunteers, who has fun to work outside in the forest and the overgrown pastures on the hills and under the olivetrees. If you are experienced wich horses, you can do groundwork or make walks by foot; if you are an experienced rider you can ride on the place or roundpen or make a trail.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accomodation: Caravan with own terrace and beautiful view in the landscape. You bring your own sleeping bag and workingdress. Access to shower and WC. We have a grillplace where you can grill or cook.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We offer normal meals, (greens, salad, beans, pasta, sometimes meat or eggs), we are cooking mostly vegetarian (sometimes we have meat or fish) but no vegan. Breakfast is served with tea or coffee, cereals, milk or joghurt, some fruits or bread, butter, marmelade. We cook not every day, so the volunteer is free using the store and cook for himself . Volunteers who want beer or wine or ask for some special ( for example vegan or glutenfree and/or lactosefree products) should provide themselves. On free days, if the volunteer is outside, he helps himself with food. But please note: we are not a hotel, not a recreation park for surfers, bikers, yogis or dancers as well we need no thai-massages, meditation or similar things. We are an organic farm with animals, garden, olive and cork oak forest and dense undergrowth. We try to lead a sustainable life and so we wish us a helpful, committed, open minded volonteer who brings in his own ideas, his talent, his engagement, his curiosity, his questions, a person who could be a good collegue with us, and who is not always watching the clock.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day 5 days a week



Host ref number: 355548282956