Looking for some help with garden and handyman work in Gin Gin, Queensland, Australia.

Country

Australia

Favourited 7 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/11/2019

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, I am semi-retired and run a boarding house in Gin Gin Qld. I have a home overlooking gum trees and bushland with lots of native plants in my garden attracting birds. I grow herbs and make natural remedies. I have trained in natural horsemanship and am happy to share the ground work skills with people who would like to learn more about body language communication with animals.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have had backpackers coming here for several years. Most enjoy a trip out to the nature park I am establishing. My social science / psychology background can provide insight into people, personalities, culture differences and lifestyle choices. Some have learnt about herbal remedies and how to make them. I am experienced in animal psychology and training with dogs and horses and am happy to teach people. After spring rains we often have large bonfires and outdoor cook up over open fires. I can teach pottery, spinning, rug making, sewing and gardening.

  • Help

    Help

    Currently I am looking for help in the garden and handyman work. Some light tree pruning might be needed. In return for accommodation, power, hot water, gas I request 12 hours per week over separate days. Access to a fully equipped kitchen is provided so people can provide and make their meals. I can usually take up to 6 people in summer as this is the quiet season for boarders but just check suitable dates.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house is modern, clean and tidy. There are outdoor living areas and BBQ facilities. Smokers have a fire pit area to retreat to. There are 3 rooms utilised by casual visitors, 1 queen room, 2 single or twin share rooms. I find diet choices vary considerably so prefer to have everyone provide their own food, cook and create for themselves or participate in shared meals if and when it suits. Hence the low work hours in comparison. Shops etc. are a short walk.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Gin Gin is a quiet country town on the main highway. Local country markets every Saturday provide fresh fruit and vegies. There are country tourist attractions in every direction. Many beaches can be reached in just over an hour and I often take visitors on beach outings.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    12 hours per week

Host ref number: 349658914251