Nice family welcoming help in the garden and around the house in Laukvik, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 52 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/08/2022

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, We are a small family living in Lofoten, a mother, father and a four year old girl.
    For the summer we got a caravan and now we can offer you to stay in there and perhaps help to make the caravan nicer place (step by step we will change the interior).

    We now prefer shorter stays, suitable or 1-2 adults perhaps one kid. I don't think three adults fit so well.

    Here is a good place to enjoy the midnight sun, we are by the sea and not so far is a nice beach. It is possible to surf here on days with swell. The weather is always changing, you can feel alive and fresh here with whatever the day brings. From the house you can see beautiful mountains and not far is a famous trail that tourists come and walk in the summer.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a small village, it's possible to see how life is here in northern Norway. Maybe you want to learn a few
    words of Norwegian. People will be happy to tell you about fishing and other local stories. We can go fishing from land, just 5 min from the house is a small beach.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    There is always something to do in the garden, we need just a pair of extra hands, the first weeks of the summer things grow really fast so it is a full-time job to get everything in order. The grass always needs a trim. If you have the interest you can do more or come with own initiative, for example I wish for more flowers in the garden.
    We have a 4 year old girl, if you like kids and are happy to play with here that can be a possibility too. For the right person can involve to sit with her at my work some evenings.
    Cooking can be a possibility as well. We are new to Workaway so we just have to see how it goes.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We got a caravan just now in June 2022, it is from the early 1990's but in good quality. We prefer that workers to sleep there, but you will use toilet, kitchen and shower inside the house.

    Our house itself is quite big but only one bathroom, not super modern house but also not too old.

    For food, either we cook together, or we just eat one meal together in the afternoon or if you prefer you can do your own thing. You are free to use the kitchen anytime. We eat meat, but we focus more on eating fish. You are very welcome if you are vegetarian, we have lots of lentils and beans. One important note: we don't eat eggs because of an allergy. So we prefer no eggs in the house /frying pan, perhaps a boiled egg is fine.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The mountains are close here, you can walk by foot to some amazing walks. We have a bike, tent and sleeping bag you can use. There is one bus that comes here once a day but we are dependent on car here. Svolvær is about 30 min drive away. In the village there is a small convenience store and also a cafe.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have enough space to park, but there is already a caravan here. Car or van is no problem.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 348489577787