Queer Family of 4 Looking for Help with Childcare and Light Housekeeping- Squamish, BC Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 49 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/08/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    HI there. We are Daniele and Jacqui, a 2-Mom family of 4 looking for someone to help us with childcare and light house cleaning. I (Daniele) am a doctoral student in Counselling Psychology, with special focus on LGBTQ+ populations, gender identity and expression, social justice and feminist ideologies. Jacqui (my partner) is a Pediatric Occupational Therapist, currently on Maternity Leave. We have a 1-year old daughter and a 2.5-year old daughter. We are seeking someone who can help with the kids 2 days/week (sometimes helping Jacqui, sometimes spending one-on-one time with our toddler, and sometimes hanging out with both). Our toddler is bright, energetic, funny, and smart. She enjoys interaction and being active. Our baby is a bundle of cuteness and has a very sweet temperament... and gives lots of smiles to those who smile at her.

    I am originally from New Brunswick and have lived in the Vancouver area of British Columbia for 20+ years. Jacqui was born and raised in greater Vancouver. We live in one of the most amazing places in Canada! Squamish is internationally known for its climbing, mountain biking, kite boarding, and hiking. We are a 45-minute drive to Whistler, where there is world-class mountain biking and skiing!

    We love nature, hiking, skiing, backcountry backpacking trips, cycling, craft beer and cider, cooking good food from a variety of genres, spending time with interesting people, and have historically been world travellers. Jacqui spent a year teaching English in Korea and had the good fortune of visiting many Asian and South East Asian countries during that year. I (Daniele) had the opportunity to visit Israel and Timbuktu, Mali for an extended period of time during my younger years. In addition to these experiences, we have both travelled to Costa Rica, Cuba, Iceland, Spain, Hawaii, Chile, Mexico, and hope to resume our travels when our kids are a little older.

    We are looking for someone who has similar interests and values to help us during this time in our lives. We are the people who typically host dinner parties, discuss social justice issues in a global context, advocate for marginalized populations, and try to be mindful of our carbon footprint (though this has been more challenging now that we are parents!).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Jacqui and I are well-travelled people who have spent time in many countries around the world. We are people who enjoy learning about different cultures and we love spending time with people from diverse backgrounds. We identify as queer and provide a safe space for everyone, particularly LGBTQ+ and other populations who have experienced rejection and/or discrimination in their lives. We will provide a warm and welcoming home, great conversation, and if English is your second language, we are more than happy to help you practice your skills!

    We are a 45-minute drive from Whistler - one of Canada's most breath-taking areas... in the Mountains. If you enjoy hiking, mountain biking, skiing, mountaineering, and/or just generally enjoy the wonder of the Mountains, this is one of the most epic places to enjoy these activities. Our house is a 15-minute walk to the shuttles that will take you to Whistler.

    We are also only a 50-minute drive away from downtown Vancouver... one of Canada's most beautiful cities. Vancouver has everything a city has to offer -- amazing restaurants from all cultural backgrounds, concerts, theatre, beautiful parks, great shopping, etc. You can access the daily shuttle from the same location where you find the Whistler shuttle.

    I'd like to think we are good cooks, so another bonus of joining us is enjoying good Canadian cuisine. I am French Canadian and Jacqui is Polish-Canadian, meaning we have some delicious meals that are informed by our ethnic roots (sometimes).

  • Help

    Help

    We require help with childcare 2 days/week (Fridays and Saturdays) and light house cleaning 5 days/week. Hanging out with our toddler may include playing games, doing crafts, playing with toys, reading books, taking our toddler to the park, singing songs, etc. Helping us to keep the house tidy and clean will also be another major task while with us. It's amazing how quickly the house can turn into a disaster when living with a toddler. :) Helping with housework may include unloading the dishwasher, vacuuming the carpets, folding laundry, sweeping and/or mopping the floor, keeping your bathroom clean (you have your own), helping with meals, and general tidying at the end of the day. We will clean our own bathrooms, do our own laundry, and generally clean up after ourselves... we just need help keeping the house in order.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, somewhat functional in French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We are living in a 2-level home that has a private area in the basement for our guests. You will have your own room, furnished with a queen bed, night stand, and spacious closet for your belongings. You will also have your own private bathroom and a spacious living area with a big comfy couch and TV (hooked up to Netflix). The privacy this offers allows you to have down time away from the chaos of family life when you're not working.

    We will share a kitchen with you, provide all food, and are very open to buying food & snacks that are to your preference. Generally, we would expect that you prepare breakfast and lunch for yourself. We usually try to have dinner as a family and would love to have you join us for this, if you wish. There is zero pressure or obligation to join us, however, and you can choose to join us on some days and not others -- it's completely up to you!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our house is situated in one of the most prized neighborhoods in Squamish. We are walking distance to some of the most popular climbing routes and you can access walking trails and mountain biking trails right from our house. Our home is a 20-minute walk to downtown Squamish, where you will find grocery stores, restaurants, boutique shops, coffee shops, and yoga studios. If you don't feel like walking, the bus stop is just outside of our house.

    Squamish is a town that has a lot of young families, so there is plenty of opportunity to find work doing childcare during the days that you are not helping us with the kids. Most people pay $15/hr, which is the current minimum wage in BC.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2 hours/day for 3 days/week; 8 hours/day for 2 days/week


Host ref number: 348387278185