Help with vegetable garden and horses and stay on a family farm south of Geraldton, Western Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 53 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/04/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our family home / farm, is situated on the coast South of Geraldton in Western Australia. We milk goats and make cheese on sight but also keep alpaca's, chickens and 6 horses. We are keen to host workaway'ers who have an interest in horses and would like to experience living with an Australian farm family, we have three young sons, our farm is a busy safe place to be.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We value diversity, before farming full time Mark worked as a agricultural research scientist and a educator of improved farming practices, Cate is a nurse who managers her time between working at the regional hospital part time and at home, our children are keen with their sporting and musical interests.
    Ethical treatment of animals is central to our outlook visitors to our farm can have an experience of an outgoing Australian family in a rural coastal setting

    Visitors often have an interest in cheese making and goats you will be invited to watch and learn about the micro dairy / cheese making side of our farm life. Our staff are hands on and happy to share knowledge of low stress live stock handling with workaway'ers.

    Keeping animals and value adding milk at the farm means we stay close to the farm throughout the year having helpers / visitors to the farm with a wide range of interests puts great diversity into our lives and the lives of our family. As part of the structured helping hours visitors can share their language, music and life experiences with the members of our house hold.

  • Help

    Help

    This is a busy place with three young children and many animals to take care of. Mark works hands on around the farm Cate works part time as a nurse.

    Workaway'ers are asked to help In particular with our horses as our children are keen riders and Mark is often in the dairy.

    for "hands on help" workawayers will be asked to help in our sizable family vegetable garden the produce from which contributes greatly to our food for the house, as well as routine horse care and education and training.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Travelers have meals at our table, family and visitors help with preparation of and clean up after meals.There is a guest room in our hourse, if this is taken there is a caravan undercover next to the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We also hosts university students studding Veterinary Science, who's experience are often interesting to travelers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (3.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 348123648419