Help build a micro-home in our garden shed on a tiny urban farm in Brisbane. Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 6 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/03/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an organic permaculture tiny farm in Brisbane. We are starting to show people how to live Sustainably in the city and grow your own food.
    We are a family of five - Four adults and 1 teenage boy. We are 14 kilometres from the centre of Brisbane and 40 minutes to the Gold Coast by car. The bus stop is a 10 minute walk away and the train station is a 30 min walk - we provide a bicycle.
    Our home is large with a pool; great to relax in at the end of the day. We provide delicious food (vegetarian as well as meat based), a comfortable bed, unlimited wifi and lots of laughs.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can help you with English.
    We can teach you how to grown your own food and inspire you to become an urban farmer.
    We love to share of home and our lives and we love to have fun and laugh.

  • Help

    Help

    We are wanting a build a micro home in our garden shed - a place for helpers to stay and for me to study (PhD) in peace.
    I have NO building skills but I am keen to learn, so you will need to know for to build! We have tools and can also purchase more!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double or queen bed. Your own room. Wifi. Shared bathroom with spa. Pool.
    We love to cook and will provide delicious and varied meals but we also get excited if you want to cook and share your cultural food with us too. We provide all the food and snacks that you want.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 14 kms from the city. We live in Sunnybank which is the heart of the Asian Community in Brisbane - the food and the cultural activities are amazing.
    Buses are a 10 min walk away. The station is 30 mins walk. We also provide a bicycle which you can use to get around on. The train to the Gold Coast take about 40 minutes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 332386439563