Small organic farm in the mountains of Cyprus

Country

Cyprus

Favourited 174 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    669

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young family (Peter, Maria and baby Alexandra) embarking on the rural life in the mountains of Cyprus. We have 6+ years of organic farming experience, which we are trying to put to use in the small village of Treis Elies. We live in a very cool old village house, part of which needs some restoration, in a growing community of ecologically minded people. We have some vegetable beds, we are raising chickens for eggs and we are working to clear more land and restore neglected orchards, which are filled with cherry, plum, apple, quince, walnut, and olive trees and much more. In the next year, we plan to add more animals, herbs (culinary and medicinal) and honeybees. We strive towards self-sufficiency, as well as making a living with small scale farming and eco-tourism.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love to share everything we know, about farming using sustainable practices, cooking and about Cyprus and cypriot culture. We've completed apprenticeships on multiple organic/biodynamic farms, and have worked in vegetable gardens, with dairy and meat animals, making cheese, doing different kind of preserves etc. We are also avid students of our surroundings and we can share our knowledge of local medicinal and other wild plants.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with our organic vegetable garden, with clearing overgrown fields, digging more garden beds, setting up fences and for small building projects (greenhouse and animal sheds, fixing up some more space in the house etc). Also if you are interested: preserving fruits, harvesting and drying herbs, cooking, baby-sitting, setting up/hosting events (art and culinary workshops). We are interested both in short-term and longer term help (particularly after March 2017)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Greek, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double bed in designated area of our home.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a beautiful village in the mountains, situated along a narrow valley on a small river, which was once used by villagers for growing all kinds of fruits and vegetables. Now most orchards are abandoned and overgrown. There are a few older people living here and a few younger people, including us, who are trying to bring the village back to life. There is a nature trail running through the village (3 minute walk from our house) as well as other nature trails within short driving distance. You can sometimes see the endemic wild sheep of Cyprus climbing up the hillside, as you are walking through the pine and oak forest.
    We are about an hour away from the beach, and an hour away from the nearest city (Limassol). There is a bus that goes there daily.
    More about us: We both have a background in the arts. We are passionate about good food and we do a lot of cooking and preserving with what we produce. We cook a combination of traditional Cypriot dishes and more modern/international foods.
    We have a baby girl. We are omnivores, but can easily accommodate a vegetarian.
    The house has charm but also an outdoor bathroom. In the winter, water is heated by wood.
    We are looking for hard working, open-minded people who are at least somewhat interested in this kind of lifestyle, willing to wake up early and excited to learn new things.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week












Host ref number: 347392232736