Looking for extra hands with permaculture, renewable/alternative technologies and/or natural building, no experience needed in Paramytha, Cyprus.

Country

Cyprus

updated   Last minute

Favourited 392 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    30  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    917

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *We are making an exception and welcoming anyone - no matter what the level of experience - for October and November 2019 as we have several projects we want to finish before the rains start and already have experienced people booked in.*

    Welcoming those with experience of Permaculture, renewable/alternative technologies and/or natural building with practical skills, Paramytha, Cyprus.

    I moved to Cyprus 9 years ago to build my own home with my own hands, which had been a dream of mine for many years. What i thought initially would be a short experimental stay has turned into a way of life ;) While living in my weird and wonderful dome home I have been slowly regenerating the land (and myself) learning as i go, based on the needs of the place and my desire to live independently and responsibly with the lowest environmental impact possible. Permanent residents include Zuki (a calm and adventurous Husky/Alsatian who is great with kids and other animals except cats and poultry) and nine bee hives.

    All the structures on the land have been hand build with low tech, low cost ecological methods (two geodesic domes, one sand bag dome an outdoor workshop, stone shower and a toilet tower with more structures planned). In addition to the structures you will be able to see working examples of swales, composting toilets, wormery and bee hives with the future design also including a fire amphitheatre, outdoor bath, small orchard and pond.

    I see the land as a living example of small scale low budget subsistence living in an arid climate as well as an opportunity to showcase various natural building styles. It is a work in progress with lots of room for improvement and i am really excited by the idea of hosting someone who has experience in permaculture/natural building/renewable technologies so we can collaborate and work together.

    We are located in a beautiful village and are fairly central for travel throughout the island. I am more than happy to connect you to other land based beautiful people around the island.

    I would prioritise anyone that also has a PDC and is motivated to work on/improve the design i have. As well as the day to day responsibilities I would love help adding those extra touches, like handmade beautiful signs, clear stone cob and wood chip pathways and other little personal touches that show simplicity at its most appealing.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a great opportunity for anyone who loves living outdoors and is interested in permaculture, natural building and natural beekeeping. Simply by living here you will interact and be immersed in these elements.

    This is also a great place for anyone wanting to put knowledge they already have in these areas into practice. I am also open to someone with skills and practical experience taking the time to learn and research around an area they have little or no experience in but are passionate about learning more and would like to try out (as long as this project is harmony with what the land requires). This is after all how i started ;)

    This is a great place for anyone who enjoys their own company and is self-motivated and enjoys being given the space and responsibility to manage their own time and project/task. I do not like micromanaging or clocking you in and out of your work times. I much prefer for you to take responsibility of certain tasks and set your own schedule.

    You are very welcome to all the books and resources i have accumulated over the years and on off days i am happy to introduce you to others practicing permaculture and living off grid around the island.

  • Help

    Help

    Throughout 2019 I am looking for a skilled handy person/craftsperson/carpenter/natural builder to assist with the completion of the interior roof for the dome extension and the building of the second bedroom. You need to be a self motivated and skilled individual that enjoys physical work (although you do not need to have all the technical skills or knowledge required for every job, part of the fun is often figuring things out together, I would expect you to have experience in building/construction of some kind that is relevant).

    One wall will be made with sandbags one with straw and one with stone. All will be finished with Cob the roof will be insulated with rockwool, pinned up with chicken wire and then also finished with cob. The floor will more than likely be wooden..but could also end up being stone. Door and window frames also need to be build and fitted...so get in touch if you have and applicable skills :)

    I am looking for hard working, self motivated, reliable and outdoorsy individuals to help in the daily responsibilities around the land as well as contributing to ongoing projects. My job working with organic microgreens and edible flowers takes me away from the land 3 days a week, we can co-ordinate some of your time off to match with these days or if you are able to motivate and continue with projects on your own while i am away we can also share some time off together and explore and enjoy the island.

    I've had great experiences with longer term volunteers and if you are responsible I can happily find you work outside the land to enable you to earn an income as well (I have ben able to do so in the past but please do not read this as a certain) I am also looking for people to help manage the land when i need to work away in other parts of the island for a few days or leave the island for holidays.

    Ideally you are happy with your own company and like living in nature. There are various responsibilities around the land that need to be taken care of on a daily or weekly basis as well as seasonal responsibilities (such as olive harvesting/pruning) which will always take priority over other ongoing projects. Then various ongoing projects that we will discuss and decide to tackle together depending on your interest and experience. The work is mostly physical but rewarding and there is always a fair bit of organising and tidying required around the land.

    I am also hoping to travel more this year and am looking for a responsible person/couple/family to dome/dog and bee sit. You would be mostly free to do what you pleased and enjoy the island and the land as long as you ensured the plants and bees are watered regularly and the dog is walked and fed. You would have access to a car (as long as you have a european driving licence and are over 25) and i would expect you to arrive at least one week before i leave so i can get you settled and orientated.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Greek and limited Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Life is lived mostly outside on the land - think of it like camping. The accommodation is basic in our sandbag dome with a double bed and some storage space but no standing room. The kitchen is in the outdoor dome the toilets are compost. We do have a washing machine but all water goes through a basic filtering system and/or directly into the land via swales so we use soap nuts to wash clothes and PLEASE ONLY BRING NATURAL/BIODEGRADABLE PRODUCTS this includes toothpaste as well as shampoo/soap/bodywash. We have wifi but it is limited so i ask you to be mindful when using youtube/streaming/downloading - if we use up our monthly quota that is it for everyone.

    Food is strictly plant based and we share the cooking and cleaning.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I'm happy to give you a ride into town on your days off and also to take you to my favourite beach spots around Limassol as well as show you some of the beautiful walks in the mountains and to picturesque villages in the area. We also have not so regular local busses and bikes available to borrow (although they will need some TLC first) It takes 30 minutes to cycle into Limassol and one hour to cycle back (all downhill into town and all uphill back). Hitchhiking is also easy if that is your thing, I and other guests/friends do it fairly regularly.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)



















Host ref number: 756924361536