Explore Lisbon, Portugal through the eyes of a local

Country

Portugal

Favourited 110 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/12/2020

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, my name is Cristiana and I'm 25 years old. I have been living in the Netherlands for the past four years. In the end of March I will be moving back to Portugal temporarily, where I'm from. When I emigrated I faced a big cliché, I realized I loved my country more than I thought and I got a big desire to share it with people. I wanna show Portugal, however I don't wanna show the higlights of Lisbon, the most trendy places to eat a burrito in Porto, or the most exclusive parties in Algarve. I wanna show Portugal throught my eyes. Through the eyes of a local. I wanna show the calm and serenity. I wanna show a country that is simple and lack pretension. I wanna show it's people. I wanna share places with soul. And I wanna show this through videos and that's why I'm on workaway. I'm looking for someone that is a videomaker and open minded to fell in love for Portugal. That wants to go around of Portugal with me to shoot the most beautiful places.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The nice thing about this project is that you will be traveling around Portugal completely for free. And you will be able to see it throught the eyes of local people. There isn't a best way to emmerge in our culture.

  • Help

    Help

    Basically, I want someone that doesn't mind to share their knowledge about making videos with me. I wanna learn. I want to be able to do it myself in the future. And I thought the way to learn it would be for us to do it together. The main idea for the videos would be to have a local person to show us the town we are shooting, to tell us stories about the place, what they love about it and mix it with footages of that place. But I'm open for any suggestions.

    Since my budget is short, I was thinking of day trips, we get up early in the morning, drive somewhere, shoot and come back home in the end of the day, so I don't have to pay hotel for us. And because of the kind of project, this is not a tipically work away where you work four hours and have the rest of the day off. You will need to be up to spend the entire day doing it. Hoewever, you can have days off as much as you want. I'm very flexible, we can work out a good schedule between us.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I will be living at my parents' home, so will you. They live in a big villa, with three floors. Each floor is a different house. We are gonna be living in the first floor with my parents. You will have your own private bedroom. Everything else is shared. They don't speak english but they are both really nice. My father is more a lonewolf, likes to be alone, watching is tv shows, but my mom is very communicative and she loves to have people at home. Sometimes, she rents out my room to tourists, and even if she doenst speak any english, they love her and they always feel very welcome.

    There is internet in the house, it's very fast, however, I don't think it works in every room.

    There is a garden in the house, where you can laydown on the grass.

    Usually, we eat all together but if the guest wants to cook for himself sometimes is also possible. Everything there is in the house he/she can use it and if there is something they want me to buy, I will do it.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a small village by the ocean. The beach is 5 minutes driving. There is very good beaches to practice surf close by. It's not easy to go around by public transportation, but I have a car and I will be keen to give you some rides in your days off. We also have two bikes that you can use, but I would recommend it just to go around the village.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 347299223986