Join our off grid quinta in Sátão, Portugal

Country

Portugal

new host  

Favourited 14 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/06/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    57.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a community in the north of portugal looking for help and exchanges with building, gardening, taking care of animals and cooking. We just bought this beautiful land a few months ago and we are now 5 adults, 2 children, 2 dogs, 7 chickens, 4 goats, 1 horse, 1 donkey and a swarm of bees living on it. It's the beginning of the project, there is a lot to do and we are super excited to share that with you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are from Portugal, Belgium, Germany, United States. All of us into self-sufficient life style for years and you will learn a lot (as we do everyday) about autonomy in general. We will work together, eat together, learn from each other every day. Some of us have more skills in construction, others in permaculture, cooking, yoga, capoeira, music or in social technologies as sociocracy or dragondreaming. We are looking for more than just help here, we are looking for friends !

  • Help

    Help

    We need help for building, gardening, taking care of animals, cooking, general maintenance. There is a lot to do in the garden (planting, weeding, creating channels for irrigation, compost...). The next building project will be a summer kitchen. We also want to build a bathroom. You will help from time to time some of us with our house project. There is a floor thats needs to be rebuild in one of our ruin. There is plenty of little things to do as fixing our bridge, cleaning paths on the land, moving animal fences, etc.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Since we are at the beginning of the project, we don't have a lot to offer in terms of accommodation. That's why we privilege people with their own accommodation. We have plenty of space to park your van or your camping car. However, we can provide you a tent and from may, it is really enjoyable to sleep in a tent around here. We have mattresses, plenty of blankets, so you will not be cold. We have a beautiful river and plenty of space around for your shower.

    We will provide you 3 meals a day (breakfast, lunch and dinner). In order to prepare the meals, we are working with a rotation system, which means that a different person will be in charge of cooking everyday.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the pure nature only accessible by dirt road. The closest town to shop is Sátão (20 minutes by car). We can come and pick you up at the bus station there. There are others communities around, plenty of beautifuls walks, a beautiful river, some abandoned villages...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We are still really limited in electricity, so if you don't have your own solar system, it will be complicated to work everyday on your computer.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    The road is totally practicable, even if you need to be really slow. Every kind/size of campervans can get here and we have different spot to park your home. You will be free to chose where you want to camp.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Let’s talk about it

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 268234667671