Help with our 1 year old boy in Otago, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 48 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/12/2019

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a working couple (26 years and 28 years old) who live in The Catlins, which is a Rainforest Conservation Park. There are beautiful waterfalls, beaches and walks within minutes drive from our house.

    We live in a semi remote location, with an abundance of native wildlife and farmland surrounding us. Small rural towns are within a 30 minute drive. Larger cities are 1 hour or 2 hours away.

    I work in an on-site restaurant that caters to many travellers of the area that is very busy over December, January and February, and my partner owns a contracting company.

    Our location is remote, so this suits someone who enjoys the outdoors, wants to explore the Catlins and is comfortable driving in New Zealand. We would hope you would want to stay for longer than a Month/ over Christmas. It is possible to take trips to Te Anau, Milford Sound, Doubtful Sound, Stewart Island, Queenstown, Wanaka as they are on the Southern Scenic Route Highway.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our house is located in the middle of the Catlins Rainforest, with numerous attractions in our one location. There is a restaurant nearby that is great for socialising over a coffee with other travellers or other like minded people. We will provide a fun place to stay while giving you all the tools to look after Ryan and explore the Catlins.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a fun, energetic, trust worthy, positive person, who loves being around children and the outdoors to help looking after our 19 month old son and also help around the house with cleaning and cooking.

    Ryan is very happy, bubbly and smiley who loves to explore and learn. We need someone who can take him exploring, play and teach him new things. Experience with children or education is preferred.

    You must be mature, genuine, responsible, tidy, caring and trust worthy. We enjoy socialising but are also hard working so would love another like minded person to help us out.

    As we are in a remote location you must have your drivers license and be confident driving on New Zealand open highways as you will be driving with Ryan.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have recently built a house on our farm with beautiful views over the valley. You will stay in our guest bedroom with ensuite bathroom and shower. Our living area is an open plan lounge and kitchen which will be fully accessible. Our bedrooms are upstairs. Our house looks out over the valley, and we will be in the process of building a deck this summer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are central to the main attractions of our area- McLean Falls, Purakanui Falls, Matai Falls, Cathedral Caves, Lake Wilkie, Tautuku Beach, Papatowai Beach and Estuary which is great for Kayaking along the river (we have kayaks available). We are about 2 hours from Dunedin, which we visit regularly as our friends and family live there. We are 30 minutes from Curio Bay which is famous for Yellow-Eyed Penguins and swimming with hector dolphins, and 1 hour from Invercargill, 4 hours from Te Anau which is the gateway to Fiordland.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 345525465555