Organic farming and sustainable living, helping in my gardens in Western Creek, Tasmania, Australia

  • Favourited 53 times
  • Last activity: 24 Jun 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks



  • Description


    No smoking or vapeing on the property at all. No exceptions. I'm open to offers for some help . Clearing walking tracks and a good variety of general farm and garden maintenance to keep us occupied.

    All work on the farm is purely to provide food for us to eat in the home.
    Please read the next part carefully.
    PLEASE DONT BRING ANY SCENTED SOAP ,SHAMPOO, CONDITIONER ,DEODORANT ETC. I have alternatives you are welcome to use. I am not able to sign for "Working holiday visa" applications.
    *****When you first contact me [or any other host] it is very helpful to tell us what date you would like to arrive and leave.****** It helps us to co- ordinate things so as many people as possible get to experience what there is to offer Please keep this in mind when contacting hosts

    There's a variety of things to keep us busy and plenty of spare time to take in the best that life has to offer.
    I have space for anyone who wants to enjoy a slice of Tasmanian life. Long term stays are welcome but I'll take anyone willing to lend a hand. I prefer people who have a real interest in learning about organic farming and sustainable living.
    Iv'e just bought a beautiful old piano and have a few other instruments,so if you are musical or would like to try playing something , come and have a go. It can be a lot of fun trying to make music. There is a variety of other general farm work to do as well.And it's not all work ,work ,work, there's plenty of playtime and fun to have as well. We all need to relax and enjoy ourselves .

    .I grow all my fruit ,vegetables and meat ,so you can enjoy really tasty ,healthy food[none of that tasteless stuff from the supermarket]
    I eat mainly a meat based diet.
    I live on my organic/bio-dynamic farm with my dog [Jake] in Western Creek which is in the Meander valley.The Great Western Tiers mountain range is at my back door so there is plenty of beautiful walking trails and lovely scenery to explore. We are growing a large range of delicious berries,fruit trees and vegetables.

    I'm always looking for happy people to help in the gardens and berry patches with a variety of tasks.There are cows to feed and chickens to look after and my wonderful dog really enjoys meeting new people.
    If you can help me learn Japanese I'll be your friend for life. The closest town is Deloraine [25km] which has all the necessary shops etc and I usually go there once a week (Wednesdays).Because the town is 25km away helpers "must" arrive and leave on a Wednesday or Sunday. I am not able to pick up anyone from Deloraine on any other days. We all need to minimise our use of cars and fossil fuels[every bit helps]. So please plan your arrival for Wednesday or Sunday.
    The closest and most convenient airport is at Launceston, serviced by Jetstar, Virgin and Qantas. There is a shuttle bus to the city bus terminal and then Redline busses [] to Deloraine. "Sometimes" I may be able to meet you at the airport. It depends if I happen to be going to Launceston on the day you arrive. There is also the option of getting the ferry from Melbourne to Devonport. Check bus timetables at

    I have been a wwoof host for 25 years so have plenty of experience in inviting people into my home and making them feel comfortable and at home.I still keep up correspondence with some Wwoofers from my first year.The community I belong to is very dynamic and varied so you can experience all sorts of people and activities while staying here .(TaiChi,Yoga,Festivals,etc).Brewing beer is one of the extra things I do in my spare time so you will be able to enjoy a "cool drink" after helping. If you have a pulse and a belly button you are "in". It's handy if you can give me some idea of how long you might like to stay [one week minimum]."" Please don't bring strongly scented soaps, shampoo etc. I can supply you with an alternative if needed."" If you have any special dietary requirements [ vegetarian, no dairy etc] or allergies please tell me when you first contact me. "NO SMOKERS , NO EXCEPTIONS"
    Please give me a call or email (no texts please ,I don't have a mobile phone) and we can arrange to meet and enjoy starting a new friendship.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have the chance to learn about sustainable food growing and then get to "eat it"! I have a great interest in Japan and all the different aspects of its culture which i love to share.

  • Help


    At the moment I'm interested in finding some help to pick blueberries from the end of January for about 8 to 10 weeks. General farm stuff . Fencing, feeding cows,collecting firewood, general vegetable gardening and harvesting.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Japanese: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    Sleeping is either in the house or maybe in a small cabin on the edge of the bush. All meals are shared together in the house

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 342848274123

Feedback (2)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.5)

My hinterland property always needs some helping hands with maintenance 7 mins from Pomona, Queensland, Australia
Experience outback life on a remote cattle station, Western QLD, Australia.