Come and help in the house and garden, Henley upon Thames, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 38 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Help wanted in the garden for a week during March or April

    I am an a retired lady living on my own, hence I would appreciate help with my garden. This would cover scarifying the lawn and doing an autumn feed, hedge trimming, digging up some shrubs, some pruning and weeding and spreading compost on the beds. If you have some experience in painting and decorating, please let me know. there may be some small requirement for this.
    There could be some mortaring in of loose edging slabs on the retaining walls.
    I enjoy theatre, cinema, reading, bridge, poetry, literature, and gardening. I tend to wake early, and don't stay up late.
    I have a daughter and family living half an hour away in Beaconsfield, and another daughter in Birmingham.

    I have 3 indoor house Burmese cats ( sometimes with a litter of kittens and may want some assistance feeding them and clearing out and refilling cat litter.

    This is a non smoking house.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Henley on Thames is a beautiful historic English town, on the banks of the river Thames, at the foot of the Chiltern hills. You can walk to the town centre in 5 minutes, where there is a cinema, a theatre, cafes, bars, restaurants and shops.

    The railway station is 15 minutes walk, and connects to London Paddington station, in 35 minutes. The nearest city is Reading, which you can get to by train or bus or to Oxford by bus..

    There are lovely country walks nearby on the riverside and in the Chiltern hills.

    I am happy to help you improve and practice your English.

  • Help

    Help

    Help looking after the cats, and sometimes kittens.

    Help in the garden with weeding, digging, pruning, planting, hedge trimming and general maintenance. You do not need to be an expert, just willing to get stuck in.

    Help with general maintenance and various projects in the house, such as occasionally painting and decorating a room.

    Cooking and shopping may sometimes be appreciated - I am sometimes quite busy and you may have to fend for yourself some days.
    .

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some Norwegian, a little French.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I can accommodate either a single person, or a couple, or two sharing a twin bedded room. It is a 2 bedroom house - (the bedrooms are very small with limited storage. on 3 storeys with 2 spiral staircases.

    The house is a quirky Georgian former gate house built in 1760 as one of the gate houses to a grand country mansion in the riverside town of Henley on Thames in Oxfordshire.

    Although the bedrooms are very small, really just room for a bed, limited storage, the house has a good sized sitting room, a spacious kitchen and a fabulous large orangery /ding room overlooking a pleasant garden, so the house has plenty of space for us to spread out.
    There is one small bathroom on the top floor and a downstairs cloakroom with WC on the middle floor..

    Regarding food, you will be able to help yourself to breakfast and lunch, and we will usually share the cooking and eat together in the evenings. If you are fairly confident at cooking, or willing to have a go, that would be great. I am not vegetarian myself, if you are a vegetarian you would have to prepare your own meals and help me with the shopping plan.

    I have cats in the house, and occasionally kittens. The garden is cat secure but the cats are not allowed out on the road.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    All food and accommodation provided in exchange for 5 hours work per day for 5 days. 2 days off a week.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 339818392876