We are currently building an off grid cabin in the country and we would love to find someone interested in helping us with this project. alberta, canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/03/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband Brian and I live in St. Paul, Alberta in a 4 bedroom house with 2 of our children who are 10 and 4. Our oldest son just moved out to go to University. St. Paul is a small family oriented town with a diverse history. Our town is very multicultural including French, Ukrainian, and indigenous peoples are a few of the larger groups in our community. My husbands family is French and our children attend a francophone school. We are currently building an off grid cabin in the country near our parents farm and we would love to find someone interested in helping us with this project. I work full time for a not-for-profit and I also make jewelry and aromatherapy products that I sell at markets. We love animals and have dogs, cats and bunnies. I play and coach hockey in the winter and in the summer we love to camp. We are surrounded by many lakes so there is always outdoor activities nearby. We enjoy kayaking, canoeing, and hiking in the summer and snowshoeing and tobogganing in the winter. My husband also hunts in the winter to provide food for the family. I also enjoy baking and crafts. Most of our family is gluten free and one is dairy free so a majority of our cooking is gluten free. I travel a large region for work because I am a trainer so there is opportunity to see many different communities within the Lakeland region.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are part of a very welcoming large French family so we can share our French Canadian culture. My husband was raised on a farm and still is connected to that lifestyle. I can also share some Metis culture. Years ago I took a teaching English as a second language certification so I can also assist someone who is learning English.

  • Help

    Help

    Since I work full time and we have children in school and sports some help around the house with some cleaning and animal care would be great. I am currently trying to downsize our belongings since our dream is to move into our off grid cabin so someone who is good with organization would be helpful. We try to spend our spare time working on our cabin project but that’s not everyday, so someone who is willing to help with building from time to time would be nice. We would be open to a couple coming since we know we are looking for some different skill sets.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have an extra room in the basement now that our older son is in university. Our basement has only one bedroom, a bathroom a laundry room. We also have a wood stove down there and a projector. We often watch movies down there on weekends. I also have a craft area down there. Everyone else sleeps upstairs so there is some privacy. We have a fenced yard and we live in a central location in town very close to the hospital.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a beautiful park not far from our house. St. Paul is not big enough to need a transit system but there is a cab company if needed. We are very family oriented and we like to spend time with family and our family is very excepting and welcoming. We will include our guests in all activities we do.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 338967936686