Help out on our family farm situated in the beautiful Rondane Mountains, at the border of the national park, Norway

Country

Norway

updated  

Favourited 482 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    32  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/04/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    218

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We're going to finish up a cabin this summer, which includes thatching, furnishing, tidying up and putting up an outhouse. Someone with experience from woodwork and/or carpentry will be preferred for this, but it's not mandatory if you feel handy enough.

    We have an old "hotel" building with plenty of rooms that needs painting and some fixing up. There are also a lot of furniture that needs fixing up or be completely redone, there's room for ideas and suggestions on this part if you like interior design and being creative.

    These two jobs are long-ish term, aka a month or two to get it all done. For those who can't spend more than a week or two there is also fencing, cleaning up farming debris/garbage and for those who can handle chainsaws and clearing saws there's work too. But these jobs are not something we wan't to spend too much time and money on this year, so we won't accomodate someone for months for these jobs alone.

    We also have three dogs that needs cuddling and long walks, these walks will count towards the five working hours a day, so here's an opportunity for the dog lovers out there.

    Everyone staying here will be expected to clean up after themselves and take part in the daily routines, be it doing the dishes or vaccuming the floors.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our farm has been in the family since before 1850, and is now owned and run by the 7th generation. We also have cabins and rooms for rent to tourists. The family consists of Ola (father), Einy (mother), Irja (2012) and Håkon (2014). Situated in the Rondane Mountains, at the border of the national park, we have some of the worlds finest nature and wildlife literally just outside the door.

    The diet is heavily meat-based. We hunt moose, beaver, roe deer and reindeer.

  • Help

    Help

    Powerwashing barn and stable.
    Removing and/or fixing old fences.
    Thatching.
    Remove old stuff laying around.
    Painting old rooms.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own room and bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you like hiking, fishing, or anything else related to nature, this is the place for you. We have cabins in the mountain you can use, and boats for fishing trips. The grocery store is a ten minute walk, but the nearest small town is 45 minutes by car. We're both hunters and sports shooters, and try to get out of the living room a much as possible. Not that we're any good at it (at least not Ola), but we're trying.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week






















Host ref number: 336342234686