Active, adventurous family seeking volunteer for household duties/childcare in White Rock, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 32 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/09/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our names are Angus and Natalie Morrison, we are in our early 30s and we have three wonderful children and an active lifestyle. We have two boys, Arden and West, who are 6 and 4 years old and a baby girl who will be 6 months old this fall. I am a school teacher and my husband is a helicopter pilot and outdoor guide. We enjoy travelling and experiencing new cultures and we have travelled to Africa, Asia, Latin America and Europe.

    We are an active family and we enjoy many outdoor activities including hiking, camping, boating and fishing in the summers and skiing and sledding in the winters. We love adventures and spend much of our time exploring whether it be international or domestic. Everyday life includes dropping off and picking up our children from their elementary and preschools, which are both easy walking distance from our home. We also enjoy taking our children to do family centred activities like going to the library or drop in programs.

    We live in White Rock, BC, a lovely oceanside town, which is 45 minutes away from Vancouver International Airport. The local beach is a 10 minute walk from our home, and the north shore mountains are a 1.5 hour drive/bus ride away.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will benefit by having the opportunity to visit a world-class destination as the city of Vancouver is nearby. We can also arrange a weekend trip to the world-class destination of Whistler, BC (2.5 hour drive away). We speak English in our home so if you are interested in improving your communication skills it is a good opportunity to do so. We are also interested in our children learning French, so if you are a French speaker that would be advantageous.

  • Help

    Help

    As a volunteer in our home, you will be expected to help plan and prepare healthy, balanced meals for the children, help with errands, help the children organize and tidy up after themselves, play and care for our children indoors and outdoors, drop off and pick up from school, help with dinner and bedtime routines and do some light housework. Ideally, we would like to arrange for 2.5 hours of work in the morning (feeding/cleaning up from breakfast and getting ready/school drop offs) and 2.5 hours of work in the evenings (errands/childcare/preparing meals/cleaning up and bedtime)- this is flexible. You would have the weekends to yourself to adventure and explore.

    You will be expected to help the older children get ready in the mornings -they generally wake up around 6:45am to eat breakfast and get ready for school. After eating breakfast and getting ready for the day, we walk to school at 8:05. Our middle child attends preschool three times a week (Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays from 9:00-11:30), also an easy walk from our home and right across the street from the elementary school. We pick our eldest up from school at 2:20 everyday and if the weather is nice, the kids play at the school playground before coming home. We may have some after school activities scheduled a couple times a week (soccer, piano, swimming, etc-to be determined). We usually start cooking dinner around 5:30 and try to have the kids in bed around 7:30 pm for the night.

    Advantages working for us are that our home, although modest, does include a fully separate suite with your own kitchen and bathroom. We also live walking distance to White Rock beach (10 minute walk), as well as the town centre (15 minute walk). It is also very easy to catch public transit from where we live. The city of Vancouver is about one hour drive away (there is also a bus that goes downtown). We have family who also has a townhouse in Whistler, BC a 2.5 hour drive away and we could arrange a visit there if desired.
    August, September and October are generally a nice time weather wise where we live.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A separate basement suite in our home with your own kitchen and bathroom. The entrance is shared to the main part of the home, but there is a door to separate the two areas of the home. Laundry is shared and located in the basement suite so times/schedule will be discussed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The town where we live, White Rock, BC, is a beach side town. You can go for walks on the beach as we have a long promenade. There are many restaurants and dining options to choose from. At high tide, you can rent a kayak or go kitesurfing. At low tide, you can go skim boarding or play in the sand. Hiking is a popular activity in the area and there are many to choose from an hour or so away from our home either towards Vancouver and Whistler or east towards Chilliwack. We also have a small theatre in town which puts on productions if that interests you. Our town also puts on many festivals/fireworks during the summer months as it is a destination town that people like to visit.

    Vancouver, BC is about a one hour bus ride from where we live. Bussing is very easy from our home as there is a bus pick up just one block away. There are many sights and attractions to choose from in Vancouver including hiking, night life, Stanley Park, Science World, fireworks/festivals, etc. We personally don't love the business and traffic in the city and prefer our much more relaxed suburban lifestyle.

    Vancouver Island/Victoria is a 90 minute ferry ride from close to our home and is a very neat spot to visit.

    Whistler is a 2.5 hour drive away and we would love to arrange a few days to a week there as we have family who owns a townhouse. Hiking to spectacular vistas, biking (mountain or on pathways), lakes and sightseeing is abundant.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Visiting the Vancouver Aquarium
Hiking to waterfalls
Riding the Sea to Sky Gondola in Squamish, BC en route to Whistler, BC
Some family fun sledding at Big White Ski Resort, Kelowna, BC
Beautiful White Rock beach!
Our little ones playing at White Rock beach, three blocks from our home.
Skiing in Whistler, BC
Host ref number: 333558945671