Be our extra help in Rural Queensland, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 12 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a cattle station 445km west of Brisbane near a town called Glenmorgan. Our property is 27,000 acres and currently it is only Ben and myself who run it.
    Our family consists of Ben, Bindy (parents) Olivia, Sally and James (our 3 great kids). Olivia, Sally and James are away at Boarding School but they will be home for 3 weeks in June for the school holidays. Olivia is 15, Sally 14 and James 12. nearly forgot, we have the most adorable labrador called Teddy and a calf that needs feeding every day.
    We have been so lucky in the past to have had some amazing people help us from Finland, Germany, Canada and France and through this we have made some lifelong friendships which is very important to us. We like the kids to learn about other cultures etc, we also want to make your stay memorable and enjoyable. We believe we are good honest country people so honesty and integrity are qualities that we are looking for in a couple because you become a part of our family while you are helping us.
    There is a bit of gardening to do but basically we would like an energetic and enthusiastic couple who like to get in there and have a go at anything and experience life in the bush. It would be great if you enjoyed to cook because I don't get a lot of time these days!!
    We have a lovely 2 bedroom cottage which is fully self-contained and very comfortable. This cottage is situated 200m from the main house. We will provide food and accommodation as part of the package.
    We would love to be able to give our helpers a true Australian experience with camp oven dinners and mustering on horses and motorbikes etc. We appreciate all the help we can get and never take anyone for granted so you will always feel valued.
    So if you would like to join our family for a few weeks then we would love to have you!!!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My husband is a typical Aussie country bloke so if you want to experience what it is like to work and live on a Queensland cattle station then this is the place for you. Ben and I also enjoy learning about your country and traditions as we have never traveled overseas and we would like to try it in the future. We may even come to your country and catch up one day!

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening - I have a large garden that needs maintenance (weeding, budding roses, mowing)
    Cooking - Help with dinner. We would like you to eat with us so we all help each other
    Help in the House - General stuff like washing, cooking etc
    Property help - This will depend on experience and what we have on.
    Initially we will give you 2 weeks and if you like it here and we are all having fun then you are welcome to stay longer. We don't ever want you to feel that you are stuck here if you don't like it.
    It would be preferable if you have a car because it is quite isolated,

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Very comfortable 2 bedroom, self contained cottage. You will eat breakfast at the cottage but lunch and dinner with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We would like people to respect our home and the cottage which we allow you to stay in. We can discuss travel arrangements upon application if you don't have a vehicle and are happy to pay for bus fare for suitable couple. We prefer non smokers

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 329565875298