Volunteering Help for lemons and olive harvest! Home and garden maintenance in Sicily, near the beach, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 1310 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/10/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    238

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are living in a tourist area along the South-east coast of the Sicily. Here the sea is splendid, the water is crystal clear and clean, the beach of fine and golden sand. There are many reefs and natural reservoirs. We have a farm with lemon gardens, olives trees and vineyard close to Noto Marina. We are preserving the original features and natural character with stone walls, old well, a lot of different fruits and trees. We have some animals: one donkey, some bees and some chickens. We tried to respect the nature starting from the way to take energies. We have photovoltaics and solar panel. Hour agricultural activities is bio. We also rent our 6 accommodation to the tourist.
    We always need some small mason work.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Elderly Companionship
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a small production of wine in September.
    All year around we need a maintenance of grass and garden, painting walls and baby sitting, cleaning family home, general maintenance.
    Here in the winter, from December to March-April we harvest lemons.

    Please contact us for more info and web sites addresses.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation can be an apartment at our place a entire house our Villas

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a family of 4 people (2 adults 50 years old about, 1 girl 16 years old, one boys 11 years old)
    We teach in the school. We have a 3 floor home with apartments sea side and two "Villas" in the country, near the beach, only 350 mt. The land around is about 20,000 sqm.
    The apartment and the two villas are for rent, normally weekly all year around. Half of our guests are from Germany the rest come from all Europe. We want try this barter. Little works for hospitality.

    We will offer you, like for our tourist guest : all furnished apartment, electricity, gas, water, linens, towels, air condition or heating, wi-fi area for free, 2 bikes. The apartment is sea view, 40 meters from the sand beach.
    We cant promise food because we offer a high value apartment. But you can try our wine...and the product of our land (lemon, almonds, olive oil,...)
    Or maybe trying we can change our opinion in the future and we can offer food. But in this moment we can't promise it.

    For now the work consist helping us with maintenance of house (painting gates, fences, walls, woods), cleaning and washing in the homes baby sitting, and some others little gardening works (wood cutting..). We have a lemons farm then we need harvest the lemons. .

    We look forward to your application...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    from 20 to 180 MB wifi connection (in the different place where I can accommodate workaway)

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 3295559944ac