Help with some outside projects in the countryside near Tivoli, Italy



Favourited 198 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    Hi, we are trying to understand who is helping us in October and if does not start raining too much in November !!

    Do to the world situation and to our age a Covid test is kindly required.

    You will help to tear off the wild weeds and keep clean and tidy the flowerbeds, the courtyard and the walkings, built wood steps and fencing off my property and the like.

    Hi, my name is Carlotta (56). I live in the countryside 7 kilometers far from Tivoli and about 30 kilometres from Rome, in Italy. I share my life with Marco (63) and three dogs. Our home is a small country cottage with its four thousand meter of land. My job is to keep in balance the wellness and caring of myself, with my man Marco, my house, my animals, my plants and my land.
    The property is divided into three, one part is house-courtyard-lawn-laboratory-patio and above and below, especially on slopes, there are olive groves and little paths among fruit trees, bushes, vegetable gardens and flower beds still in the making. Until 10 years ago when I bought, all the land was virtually abandoned and uncultivated. I, with great patience and like a good turtle (tartarughina), slowly try to fix everything, working for the 90% by hand and alone. By myself because we have little money and cannot afford to pay aid, and by hand because the terrain is steep and unmanageable for tractors or the like.
    Please bring shoes and clothes suitable to work in the fields in the countryside, it can be hot but it is better to work dressed light but covered and safe. Be shure to have shoes with not slippery sole.
    We do require our helpers to have personal travel insurance.
    We do not provide any support for obtaining Visas or any Residential matters.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I'm reasonably good at cooking, so you'll be able to learn a bit about italian food.
    There is a tiny village at about 2 km with a bus stop, a bar/pizzeria and a 'piazzetta' where few people meet in the evening.
    Tivoli (that have 2 UNESCO sites, Villa d'Este and Villa Adriana) is at 7 km, Rome is at 30 km and the railway is at 6 km.
    Around us you can have nice walks among field of olive's trees.
    We'll be glad to teach you some italian and you can borrow some of our italian books.

  • Help


    No shorter staying than three weeks at a time. From our experience the better working-cultural exchange is of about 50 days (6/7 weeks).

    I usually need help with heavy works, with the cleaning up from weeds in my flowerbeds, with gardening in general, in hoeing (or dig?) the earth, and in various specific jobs, such as building small dry terraces or buiding objects with wood. In particular, now I need a great deal of help to fence off the property so as to take out animals that do damage (like a nightmare in previous years we have been plagued by wild boars (pigs?) and hedgehog), so that our dogs can run more, and hopefully even we will stop stumbling in some little cute bordering neighbors of land.
    It is important you are ok to work hard with your hands, like hammering while standing on a stair, hand hoe the vegetable garden, plant trees or build dry stone walls. You could be required to learn for example how to use a use a whisk to cut the iron.
    In exchange for 25 hours outside work per week outside plus 1 per day coabitation contribution, we offer a cute small apartment (not completely indipendent) and meals. We hope for helpers that are not too picky on food, our last helper was a bit too picky, no vegetables, no fish, no this, no that ... ufff. We would enjoy to share our food with people who can and love to eat a little bit of everything (including meat).
    Helpers are supposed to help and share breakfast, lunch and supper with us. If from time to time they can cook it will be very appreciated but not mandatory.
    If they are good at taking pictures that would help me at tracking the working progress !
    On top of the 25 hours per week work in the fields, I'll need daily help fixing meals and tidying the porch and the lab. Those who choose to live with us, in addition to the settled 5 hours of help in the countryside, shall participate daily in common life (+/-1h 7 days per week); you will take care of your assigned areas and have your part in the maintenance of the common ones, Carlotta will tell you what and how to do, but here is a realistic example:
    1. Your rooms and your bathroom shall be sparkling shining all the time and you shall use the given linen for the bed, if it is not clear to you how to do it, you must ask;
    2. Each tools will have to be cleaned and put daily back in the proper place;
    3. You will daily alternate the cleaning of the porch and courtyard/lab, sweeping them and learning the use of compressed air to improve their cleaning;
    4. You will daily keep clean counter and cookers in the kitchen;
    5. You will set the table for lunch and dinner and help clear the table;
    6. You will daily bring compost and ashes down to the their assigned areas and keep clean the garden from the droppings of the dogs ;
    7) you change the water of the dogs and you keep clean the related buckets (3).
    Good manners are welcome, for example during meals please do not use your phone, not even for data, as it is rude to your guests.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    An internal staircase leads to a tine loft on the third floor, with bedroom and bathroom for our guest.
    The guests, in addition to daily work, are supposed to help to prepare meals and with the clean after (breakfast, lunch and dinner), and they are expected to keep daily clean and tidy everything around them, in the house and outside. No smoking nor food is allowed in the guest area. We do not have air-conditioning.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are surrounded by nature, the train station in Guidonia is at about 6 km, there is a bus stop at about 2 km so you will need to walk (maybe we could find you a bicycle). The train take you down town in Rome in 45 minutes, and the busses can take you to Guidonia train station or to Tivoli in 15/20 minutes (but unfortunately their timing is not reliable).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 Daily hours in the fields 5 days per week ++

Now this stair needs fixing !
Some of the threes, bushes and flowers
The garden from the patio

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 962643897289