Explore what Montreal, Canada has to offer and help out a lovely, funny, creative family!

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 48 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Covid 19 update: We are currently only accepting visitors who have not travelled outside of Canada for minimum 14 days prior to arrival at our home, have not had contact with anyone who has had covid in the previous 14 days, or is showing any symptoms of covid. Our guests are expected to follow Quebec's social distancing guidelines and respect the wearing of a mask on public transit and in interior public spaces.

    Hello Workawayers! I am a single Lesbian mom to seven year old triplets who I parent in shared custody. Three years ago we moved into a town house near the kid's school and there are lots of little odd jobs that we need help to take care of. Also, the kids are becoming more independent and need coaching to accomplish their chores and responsibilities.

    I am an artist and entrepreneur, I have a varied schedule that sometimes has me working from home and other days I am at the studio or teaching. The kids are in Grade 2 and attend school Monday to Friday from 8am-4pm. I have every second weekend off from the kids. I am fluently bilingual, English and French. The kids are learning French and are in French immersion at school.

    Our home has a nice yard and is enclosed with many trees and hedges that require clipping. We have three floors, the top is where you will find the master bath and mine and my daughter's bedroom. The middle floor has the living room, dining area, kitchen, and a half bath. In the finished basement there are the boy's bedroom, laundry machines, storage, and the den has been made over into a room for the workaway. We have Wifi and Netflix, and an X-box 360.

    We live in a part of Montreal called Lasalle. It is highly multicultural and family oriented. Shopping and restaurants are just steps away. There are many beautiful parks and bike paths. It is a thirty minute trip by public transit to the downtown core of Montreal. Festivals, museums, and the historical buildings of Montreal make it a global cultural hub.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Need to practice your English? Welcome, welcome! Explore Montreal! Join a meet-up group and get out there in your free time to take in the cultural diversity. Also, we welcome you to join us at our family supper, get current on what happens in our daily lives. We attend a Unitarian Church that respects and welcomes people of all backgrounds, you are welcome to come with us and meet people from a variety of religious and spiritual or atheist and agnostic viewpoints. We also want to learn about you! Tell us about where you come from and where you are going!

  • Help

    Help

    I have a variety of things that I need help with and am willing to tailor my expectations according to the Workawayer's talents and preferences. For example, I would love to paint some of the rooms in my home, put up shelves, install new countertops, and other manual types of odd jobs. I also would like help around the house, with regular cleaning, cooking, packing lunches for the kids, babysitting, and sometimes just housesitting. Ideally we will sit down and make a schedule that we are both comfortable with. I also want to offer flexibility, to allow the workawayer to be able to travel around the area, or to neighbouring provinces. I'm very open and fair and want everyone to have the best experience possible.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    My daughter is generous enough to give up her bedroom during the time that a work awayer is staying with us. This private bedroom has a double bed, closet space, clock radio with CD player, and is located right next to the master bathroom on the top floor.

    You are welcome to eat supper with us and participate in meal planning. You will be given a cupboard to store your dry food items, and if you need a space in the fridge for you personal use, please let me know and we can organize that for you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    From our house, you can take an 8 minute bus ride to the metro which allows you to access the entire city. Just google Montreal and you will see that this city has so much to offer! Also, there are buses and ride shares that can take you to neighbouring cities like Ottawa, Quebec City, and Toronto. We can make a work schedule that allows you to travel and attend events. It is important that we all get our needs met, so I appreciate a job well done, and respecting mutually agreed upon time commitments. You will always be invited to come along if we are going swimming, to the movies, to the local library, shopping, hiking, visiting a museum, or attending a cultural event. However, you will have to pay your own admission fees to any outings.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have standard wi-fi and am also working from home a few days a week. We can create a co-working space, or co-ordinate in a way that works for us.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have a parking spot that fits a small camper or van.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 3-4 days a week

Canadian Geese near Parc Des Rapides, they will bite if you get too close!
Kids at the Ilumi light festival with Workawayer Elise
Ca Va Bien Aller!
Icy view from walkway on Saint Lawerence River
Work Awayers Jeri and Mike with the kids at the Santa Claus Parade
Snow Angel
Construction!
Swim Lessons are on Saturdays!
My son is carving a jack-o-lantern for Halloween.
These are my sweet, silly kids!
The kids love to climb this tree in the back yard.
Family supper!
Nana, the grandmother, is helping the kids with their homework.


Host ref number: 321395882795