Learn about our eco-friendly lifestyle in the countryside near Tbilisi, Georgia

Country

Georgia

Favourited 128 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/07/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our Family, Mariam, Zura, three kids, two dogs, a cat, a turtle, birds, hedgehogs, and frogs living around us welcome those who respect and miss to be in nature, who would love to communicate with animals and have the desire to share our eco-friendly lifestyle.
    We live in the countryside at 35 km. away from Tbilisi. We have 4000 sq.m. garden with fruits and vegetables.

    All of the things in our place are built, designed and constructed by us within a year and it seems like a never-ending process of building and improving.
    Now, We are preparing for fall when we will harvest our vintages and store it for the winter.

    Another to-do for the winter is to finish building of our straw bale house.
    We are in the process of building. All the construction and woodworking process is done; we already began filling walls with straw bales and will be plastering it later. So if you are into Ecological buildings, here is the right place.

    Meanwhile, we also work on our kid zone and event space improvements. We aim to start hosting events, workshops and kid camps to allow those who want and need to get familiar and closer to nature, to participate in natural processes as therapy and just to have fun outdoors.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Art Projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our offer is unique in this region since there are no other families inviting volunteers to participate and study about ecological building styles and permaculture.
    Since we are planning to host events, volunteers will be able to connect, socialize and familiarize with Georgian mainstream young society, including artists and musicians.

  • Help

    Help

    We welcome volunteers to join our simple village life, close to nature and ecological lifestyle.

    The range of help we need is wide - from everyday chores, like - helping with cooking and cleaning (Volunteers are not asked to serve paying customers.) looking after our vegetable garden or cutting grass, improvements in kid zone and event space, also to help in the construction of our ongoing project of straw bale house. Our offer is unique in this region since there are no other families inviting volunteers to participate and study ecological building styles and permaculture in practice.
    Volunteers are not asked to serve paying customers.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Georgian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Guests can sleep in their sleeping bag in the loft bedroom of our strawbale house or during the summer can sleep in a tent.
    We can provide a tent and bedding for volunteers if given notice in advance.
    You will have access to WiFi, hot shower, we can swim in the pool during hot noon and sunbathe, enjoy bonfire during cold evenings, have a barbeque and much more; you will get all meals and there is always food in the fridge.
    We will expect your help for some 3-5 hours per day.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 476585416767