Help me paint a beach house and plant some trees in Puerto Rico

Country

Puerto Rico

Favourited 48 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    31/08/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My parents are retired and old, and they own a beach house which we have not been able to keep properly maintained (paint, varnish for wooden windows, pressure washing areas). We live in the capital city (San Juan) and the beach house is 2 hours away in the town of Isabela. Some times we do not visit for 1 or 2 weeks, or more, and it has continuously gotten deteriorated (especially the painting and the wooden window's varnish finish). I have proposed my parents to paint the house, sand the wood windows and put new varnish on them. I thought it could be a great idea to get assistance from travellers that would like to do some major painting (interior and exterior of a two-floor beach house). I'm a pretty chill guy, I've done couchsurfung in various countries and also have travelled extensively.

    If you and company are honestly interested in rolling sleeves, sweating and painting for 2-3 days, then the room is yours! I can provide breakfast and of course beers will be a must (if you drink). Although I might have to be in San Juan some days.

    The house is by the beach, so it's a great combination of work and relaxation.

    I request an interview via Skype or Whatsapp.

    TWO things to be very aware of:

    1) There is no Wi-fi in the house. Although house has large flat screen with a couple of channels and USB/HDMI connection.

    2) I emphasise that Puerto Rico, unlike many developing countries in Latin America, has little means of moving around (trsnaportation) because cars are cheap and everyone has one. In San Juan (capital) the bus system is already deficient system so in Isabela it's nonexistent. There's no buses, no Uber / Go Jek, no motorbike drivers, nothing. I strongly suggest you rent a car here, sometimes rental companies have good deals.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I'm a local, so I can definitely give some Spanish language tips. Also, I love explaining the history of Puerto Rico and our traditions to foreigners and learning from their country or city too.

    I'm a traveller and a friendly guy, I'm not looking to exploit cheap/free labor. There will be beach and bar time :)

    You'll learn a lot about the lifestyle in the West of Puerto Rico. Isabela is a beautiful town full of beaches. Although I do not surf, Jobos beach (100 metres away from the house) is famous for surfing and paddle boarding. Also, Shacks beach on the other end (30 min walk or 4 minute driving) is famous for snorkeling and kite surfing.

  • Help

    Help

    - Painting exterior and interior of a two-story house (I'm probably looking into hosting several times in order to complete it. Unless you're so pumped that we finish it all!)
    - Gardening/planting trees
    - Sanding wooden windows and railings in order to give wood some treatment and paint with a new layer of varnish.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish, English, Italian, Portuguese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Room with two twin beds (these can be attached together and become sort of a queen-size bed, although the gap in the middle might be a bit annoying without a think cover).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    For your free time you can simply walk 20 steps and you'll be at the beach. There's also instructors and shops that offer surfing classes or rent snorkeling sets, paddleboards. We can also do a tour to another town nearby and check out other beaches.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/hours day, 4 days/week

Host ref number: 319383294457