Last minute

Permaculture project under the tropical sun in Yabucoa, Puerto Rico

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Saludos! I'm Lisa, a 55 year old Swiss-Puerto Rican with a long past career in communications, and ongoing ones in other areas (civil service, arts), that has decided to spend more time in nature than in front of screens. In 2020 I started this permaculture project in the mountains of Yabucoa. My goal is to eat mostly from what grows on the land and grow an edible forest for future generations. This is a non-commercial, idealistic and neighbourhood friendly project, and I'm most greatful for enthusiastic, nature loving volunteers who love to share over meals and see when and where help is needed, even when not told what to do. This is a 100% drug and smoke free environment for people who love peace and quietness.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn a lot about Puerto Rico's flora and fauna, will cherrish to eat what grows, and can interact with other volunteers over meals. You can practice your languages, learn how to use garden and other tools, get creative (paint, write, sew), read, relax, play board games (on request I'll teach you how Puerto Ricans play Domino and can show you the basic Salsa steps, too). Sustainability and mindfulness applies to all resources.

  • Help

    Help

    I offer a free bed and three daily vegetarian/vegan home cooked meals in exchange for 25 hours of help per week. Clear the land, plant, deweed, trim, harvest,... mostly alongside me, a neighbour, and other visitors and volunteers. There is always enough to do on my roughly one acre hillside land under the tropical sun, as well as in and around the house. In case you're a handy person or a builder we can build stuff using the bamboo that grows on the land and do some maintenance work on the house, too. When it comes to household chores (do the dishes, hang the laundry, keep the house clean) we help each others, nevermind the gender.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I speak German, Spanish, English, French and Italian. Volunteers are welcome to brush up and practice their languages with me and introduce me to theirs. As most volunteers are (only) English speakers, you'll most likely not get the Spanish immersion you might hope for.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Comfortable house with four beds in two rooms and a shared bathroom. Screens on all windows, mostly lower temperatures than in the cities. Solar power and water cystern add to the eco lifestyle. We practize reduce/reuse/recycle.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The house is about 60 min from San Juan. There is NO public transportation. Uber drivers come up from Palmas del Mar, Humacao (no guaranteed availability, though), and charge approx. $40 to $80 for a ride to San Juan or to a swimming beach (Seven Seas, Fajardo, Monserrate, Luquillo, Isla Verde, Carolina, Ocean Park or Escambrón, San Juan). I normally pick up the volunteers in a radius of an hour, preferrably when I have to be in San Juan anyway, and take them shopping every 7 to 14 days. Fridge space is VERY limited, so please just get non-perishable snacks or supplements.
    All meals are taken together at approx. 6:30-7:30AM, 12MD-1PM and 6-7PM. I cook vegetarian (vegan on request).
    Strictly no smoking, no drugs, no noise and no phones during meals.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Fast/reliable fibre optic internet is provided, but I strongly suggest to spend as little time as possible online, as the idea is to be outdoors and offline as much as you can, and also help me with household chores such as washing, cooking, cleaning. Use the opportunity to engage in conversations, practice an instrument, play games, or get crafty.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    A regular campervan can be parked next to the house.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Up to 25 hours per week.

Host ref number: 585156514878

Feedback (15)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





























Volunteer at my home in the paradise of San Juan, Puerto Rico
Create a self-sufficient and sustainable homestead in El Yunque, Puerto Rico