Help care for alpacas, miniature donkeys and horses on a hobby farm in the Okanagan, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 302 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    43  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have a hobby farm located in the North Shuswap in the beautiful Okanagan in British Columbia. It sits above the Shuswap River Valley across from the picturesque Enderby Cliffs. This area is characterized by a mild climate, warm lakes, mountains and lush forests. The farm is located across the road from 50 km of hiking and biking trails, and is minutes away from Gardom Lake, a gorgeous lake that is abundant with wildlife. It is also conveniently located 20 minutes from Salmon Arm, a lovely city on the shores of Shuswap Lake. The farm is home to a variety of animals, including: horses, alpacas, miniature donkeys, cats and a German Shepherd.

    I have a very busy schedule, balancing running the farm, having a busy environmental consulting practice and competing with my horses. Having someone on the farm who is a self-starter and hard worker would be of great benefit. The work requirements will fluctuate between day to day, but will generally be between 3-5 hours per day. Previous farm experience (e.g. being a handy person) and experience with animals is a must. Previous horse experience would be a definite asset and would be preferred. Ability to help with meal planning and cooking would be greatly appreciated.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The Okanagan is world-famous for it's beautiful scenery, mild climate, wineries, orchards and lakes. I live in a rural community where people are very friendly and welcoming to travellers. I am happy to share my knowledge of horses and animal care. You are treated as part of the family here.

  • Help

    Help

    I could use help with the daily farm chores, including daily care of the animals (providing medicine, feeding and cleaning of paddocks). I'd also appreciate help with completing my yearly spring job list to prepare the farm for the coming summer. Tasks include: mowing the lawn, repairing fencing, removing snow chains from the machinery, harrowing the riding rings, removing weeds from the garden and pasture, etc. There is also preparation to be done in the fall for our snowy winters.
    Help with cooking and tidying up the house would also be appreciated. I'm happy to provide practice for people wanting to improve their English.
    Only for people who are experienced riders, there is an opportunty to help me with exercising my horses.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Hungarian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I live in a cozy farm bungalow (2100 square feet) with a stunning view. It has a private guest suite with a seperate entrance, a brand new queen-sized bed, kitchenette and attached bathroom. Includes wireless internet and internet TV.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Readily accessible activities include: mountain biking, road biking, hiking, running, fishing, camping, boating, kayaking, winery tours. Public transportation is limited, so having a personal vehicle is highly recommended. The farm is located 30 minutes drive from Vernon, 75 minutes from Kelowna and 20 minutes from Salmon Arm, all which have a variety of amenities. There is a wonderful outdoor farm theatre (Caravan Farm Theatre) located in Armstrong that is a must-see. We are also 100 km from Revelstoke, the heart of the Selkirk Mountains .

    This farm is best suited to a fit and active person who loves animals, likes to spend time outdoors and enjoys the tranquility of rural living. This is a non-smoking household with limited alcohol consumption. Drug use is taboo.

    A good sense of humour is always much appreciated! I have travelled a lot and know how much living with 'locals' can enhance your travel experience. I look forward to sharing some Canadian culture and insights with you.

    I have been hosting workaways since 2014.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-5 hours a day / 5-6 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)


























Host ref number: 318616323462