Help us with old house renovation and permaculture garden in Lokovec, Slovenia

Country

Slovenia

Favourited 204 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/11/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    55

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello guys!!!

    //
    UPDATE:
    Hi everyone, we will not host anymore before spring 2023. Enjoy your travels!
    //


    We are a couple of french - Lucien and Nolwenn - and we have been living in beautiful western Slovenia for 4 years, in Nova Gorica area.

    Our long term goal is to work with tourism and host people in our pristine natural surroundings: we are renovating an old farm with as much natural material as we can, we created a permaculture garden that still needs a lot of work and knowledge to be productive, we live in the middle of an amazing forest.

    Lucien is a chef and painter, and his goal will be to offer gastronomic dishes with the home grown vegetables.
    Nolwenn will be dedicated to the garden and the guests

    Our place will run around artistic projects. We plan to live from our art (Lucien was a painter before being a cook) and our handicraft (Nolwenn is highly motivated to learn about natural cosmetics, herbal medicine, handicrafts, handmade jewelry, knitting, etc....)
    We've been traveling for 10 years and for us it's really the first time we settle down somewhere.
    And we know we have to learn so much about many, many things...

    So it's with a lot of enthusiasm and humility that we started our dream here in Slovenia, with big help from volunteers in the first 2 years, it's been a hell of a ride but the work done has been incredible and we met truly amazing people!

    We don't mind a good party with friendly people and we regularly make fire outside with music instruments in summer nights.
    Please note that the closest shop is around 15/20km so you need to buy personal things in advance (alcool, cigarettes, snacks ...)

    PS: for the internet access, we don't have wifi but the 4G connection is available for smartphones.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Slovenia is a great country to visit and our place out of the beaten track offers an insight on rural Slovenia.
    You will benefit to be a part of an exciting and environment-friendly project, surrounded by nature and live in a modest way far from the stress of the city.
    We could teach you about cooking, drawing, photography and much more if you are interested! But we are planning to learn a lot from you too!

  • Help

    Help

    The ground floor of the house still needs renovation but should hopefully be done by the end of the year. Limestone plastering, wooden floor polishing, bathroom complete renovation (water, electricity, shower, ceramics, plasters, etc) ,

    Some work will be needed in the garden also, mostly in the beginning of lay: complete renovation of the vegetable garden fence (now looks like a game for deers to come in every night), making new bamboo structures for climbing vegetables, planting, maintenance, maybe building a winter garden, etc...

    We also need strong arms and strong motivation to help us with our firewood: bring back the trees from the forest, cut, split, store!

    We would also love slovenian workaways to teach us slovenian!!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on which room we will be working on, we should be able to host you in the house, we have a lot of mattresses and we can make dorm rooms, if we don't have a lot of guests you might have a private room. We also have other options:
    - We have a small place for camping vans
    - We have a 10ha forest in which it can be fun to camp (but nights are very cold)


    Since not so long we have hot water running but the bathroom is unfinished so you will probably feel more free to shower with our open air solar shower.

    The meals will be vegetarian and we will naturally ask everyone to take turns help in cooking and cleaning.

    Please note that we are not connected to public water nor public waste-water so we kindly ask you to save the water as much as possible.

    We will try to provide everyone with natural products but we yet have to find them!!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live at a very central point between Nova Gorica and Tolmin/Most Na Soci: the amazing Soca river is 20kms away so there are plenty of things to do like rafting, wine tasting, trekking, swimming in the Soca, paragliding, etc....

    If someone has a car you can go swimming in the Soca River every afternoon!

    There is no public transport (or very little, 1 bus per week-day) to our village so it's much easier if you have your own transportation or if you are a hitchhiker. Please understand that we can't come to pick everyone up here and there.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












Host ref number: 314899822368