Come and help us building with wood in our communal living project in Hildburghausen, Thuringia

Country

Germany

new host  

Favourited 24 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have started a communal living project in beautiful Thuringia, Germany and are also open to new flatmates (currently three people live here). We like yoga and meditation. We have a free shop with different events here. We don't have animals yet (maybe chickens in the future). We prefer helpers that stay for two weeks up to a month.
    Currently we are looking for help to build with fresh wood and papercrete. There is also always a shelve to build ;)
    We also a big garden with lots of fruit trees and some vegetables that we are working on transitioning towards permaculture and setting up a food forest. This year we have created new beds for more vegetables, we planted potatoes, beans, tomatoes, salad, pumpkin and a lot more. We love exchanging plants and seeds, you can bring something with you if you like.
    Other tasks include: building with clay and adobe, weeding, mulching, harvesting and art or sewing projects :) Our next project will be building a little house in the garden with concrete and paper (papercrete), it will be really unique and fun!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Charity work
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn a lot of different things from us: wild plants, languages, sustainable living, energy-efficient cooking, dumpster diving, yoga ... And of course our surrounding area is beautiful and waiting for you to discover it :)

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for helpers for building with wood and building with adobe/clay, gardening etc! As well as creative projects like wall paintings, mosaic, .. There is something for everyone :)
    Currently we accept helpers for two weeks with the option to stay longer when we get along well. In your first two weeks we will have 4 working hours per day with two days off. When you want to do more and if you stay longer we will give you a list of independent projects you could do so you will be able to make your own schedule (and be more of a friend/flatmate than a helper).

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Turkish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house is big, but in lack of private rooms for everyone, we do functional living so that helpers will be in a communal sleeping room with the option to use a private room when wanted. But mostly you will have the communal sleeping room for yourself. The WIFI is fast and reliable. We offer vegetarian food that is also freegan.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will have two days off, which you can choose yourself. We have bikes that you can use. You can do bike trips around the area or go hiking in the Thuringian Forest (there are busses going).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 141356572797