Help with work around my house and dog-caring near Wels/Linz



Favourited 131 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
  • Description



    You are searching for a nice stay for Christmas/New Year 2016?
    I would love to travel to Thailand with my boyfriend to visit his family - so I am searching for a couple which would stay in my house and keep it warm and would take care of my dogs and my cat.
    I would need you to come earlier, about 1 week before Christmas - so you get to know my dogs better.
    So I definitely need people which adore dogs and know to handle them, which love to walk around with them.
    My family is living close - so if you there is something you need help that would be no problem.
    When I am in Thailand I would contact you via videocall via social media
    I would also give some extra-pocket-money for the help in this time.



    My name is "Mela", I am born in 1980 and I am renovating an old little house at the time - and moved there in the end of December 2013 with my "family" (my dogs Chevy, 9 years & Karma, 3 years in December and my cat Bonnie,17 years).

    Living here will be a kind of "down-to-earth" - we will have to heat the house with wood, there is no regular street to the house ... for me it fits quite good the way it is. :)

    I am most vegan, but some times I do eat egg-stuff - so your food over here will be most vegan too - you don't have to be vegan or vegetarian - but you should be open-minded ;) and definitely LOVE dogs (my big dog is slabbering/has sulliver around his mouth! - and he loves contact and to play around or snuggling, Karma still is jumping to say hello ... - they are members of my family - ditching my dogs is a kind of ditching me ... ) ...
    So if you aren't a dog-lover - it will not be the right place for you to stay ;)

    You can meet my family that is not living far and get in contact with my younger brother who is handicapped - he loves when people come over for watching TV with him and telling stuff in English ... maybe you want to share some time with him - you can if it fits for both of you.
    My family is really wonderful and open-minded.

    I believe in the power of love, an open heart, believe in the good things coming and am interested in herbs, meditation, yoga, I do some fitness and try to avoid wheat ...
    there is always a loooot of work - in the garden and in the house.
    I love to cook and do things on my own - so I love to cook jam, preserving food, making seitan by myself ... eating food out of my garden.

    I am studying social work (since last autumn, until then I was a kindergarden-teacher) - and 24 hours a month I am working with homeless people. (most on weekends)
    If you are interested in this work you can come and join me on Sundays if it fits.

    I love the natural-building-stuff but I don't know too much about that ... I also love to upcycle things, fleamarkets, second-hand-stores and to use as less money as possible ... I really don't like to throw away food ... I buy used stuff or just "exchange" :)

    I create jewellery and like to sew stuff.

    there is a growing-tent in the garden but I did not have the time to start plants growin in there until now ... I was too busy.

    Some days I love to have some time "off" and I would love if you can stay alone in the house for dogsitting during the night until I come home the next day after work or on the weekend ... feeding the dogs, taking care of them.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Help


    Work won't be that hard over here - painting walls, doing some wood, taking care of the fire and keep the house clean and warm, loving my animals and taking care of them, repairing this and that.
    The hardest work is almost done.

    I would be happy if you bring experiences in doing some building-stuff (using drill, screw-driver ... )


    at the time now you could help me out if you are able to do some of the points:
    Digging the soil in the growing-tent
    do some wood-work
    fix the wood house outside and clean up outside (dogpoop included)
    build stuff out of paletts
    cleaning inside the floors every (second) day
    help in the kitchen / sometimes cook for yourself
    doing dishes
    cleaning the roof-pipes out of leaves
    mawing the lawn (oh yes!)
    walking the dogs <3
    feeding my animals
    cleaning the windows
    caring the plants
    paint some stuff inside
    and so on ...

    you should love: improvisation!?

    I do not like spiders ... but over here are living enough of them and I do not kill them. So I get along with them in a way. So if you are freaking out because of them you should be prepared ... if there are "big fat Jimmys" I can not carry them out by myself ... haha

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Update 1) and 2): you can use my sleeping-room and you can also let the dogs sleep in bed if you would like to do that - because they love to ... )

    There's an own small guest-room in the house, at the time just with a small but comfy couch to sleep on. The room is now more a creative-room. If you can't sleep on the couch in the room you could use the one in the living-room for sleeping, it's quite big and made out of paletts. It's just in case.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You definitely should love to live in a kind of "symbiosis" - sometimes help a whole day, but have other days totally off of work.

    You should be able to arrange yourself to get to the city by bus (station is not far). Sometimes I go somewhere and whenever you can come with me I will tell you before.

    I am studying - so I will go back to University in the End of September. From time to time I do work in the city very close - with homeless people.

    I would like if you let me know more about you and to have contact via mail before we both decide that you come here so we both can have a good time and we know we don't get annoyed of each other after 2 or 3 days :)

    If you want to know more about the house and the situation here - please don't be shy to ask.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    should be great for you and me ... let's talk about it! max 15 hours a week (no food)

a corner in the living-room
bathroom with toilet, shower and bathtube (shared)
bathroom (shared)
Bathroom (shared)
Chevy in the kitchen
the kitchen
Chevy and Karma - allowed to be on the couch
outside in the back of the house in summer
Chevy & Karma
Chevy and me.
a part of the kitchen

Host ref number: 312937441667