Family looking for all around help at home :) in Captain Cook

Country

United States

Favourited 312 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    763

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Aloha,
    My name is Alena and my husband is Gio, we have three wonderful children Jasper (6yrs old), Paxton (4yrs old), and our baby girl Stella (1 year old). Our little ones are very social and love the outdoors. We live on the Big Island of Hawaii were we both were born and raised. We live in Captain Cook which is a rural area, up on the mountain with farm land surrounding us, but also a 15 minute drive down the mountain to the ocean. Our oldest son Jasper is in first grade, Paxton is in preschool, and Stella goes to work with me. I am a loan officer and my husband does various jobs like making fences and fishing. On our time off we love to take the kids to beach, and spend time with our family and friends... We love going on adventures and are kept pretty busy with our three kids! We have really enjoyed this work away site and the people we have met... We truly believe that this island has so much to offer someone seeking great adventure. In the prompts below you will see more info on transportation because it can be difficult, if you are NOT into walking, exercise, or hitchhiking this is NOT for you. But if you do and can manage to figure out the transportation and hitchhiking then there is much to do and see.

    VERY IMPORTANT:
    I will say this a lot throughout our profile, our home is located up on the mountain on a very steep road. You will be having to walk up and down it to get to the highway, where you will then need to find a ride, hitchhike, catch the bus to get anywhere. It has not been a problem for many workaway's but has been hard for some. People are very friendly and its a gorgeous location but you HAVE to be willing to walk and take some time and effort to get places.

    We are looking for someone who can take care of themselves and is VERY self motivated.

    With respect of you and us we always like to make an agreement that there is no binding contract, that if it is not working out for any reason for either party there will be no hard feelings in ending the work trade and living agreement.

    We are very easy going and love to meet new people and have had great experiences thus far. We are also protective of our children, space, and privacy. With that we will respect your space and privacy as well. When you are living here doing your hours for work trade feeling welcome and comfortable is our goal!!!!

    Looking forward to hearing from you and setting up a skype conversation if your interested!!!!


    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️ If there are couples looking here, we would be interested in that as well. Each person would do their 20 hrs a week and we would figure out what jobs fit each person accordingly.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There is so much to see and experience here!!! From beaches to hiking the volcano national park, snorkeling and swimming with dolphins, hiking to waterfalls, seeing snow on the mountain of Mauna Kea in the winter, or star gazing at the best place in the world. The Big Island is purely a magical place and we would love to trade help for someone to get a chance to explore this beautiful place we get to call home. We highly encourage our Work Away's to take full advantage of their time off and EXPLORE!!!!!

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone to help 25 hours a week with mainly house keeping, and cooking. If any outside work is needed It would be a variety of different things (pulling weeds etc.). Along with your 25 hours there could potentially be more available hours to be worked for compensation, if you were interested but not expected. There would be a set schedule for the most part, so that you can plan your stay here and get to adventure around the island and get to experience what it has to offer, which is a lot!!!

    For the house keeping (main job):
    It would be general maintenance of our home.
    Daily sweeping, vacuuming, dishes, picking up toys, folding laundry, cleaning the bathrooms (when needed, etc.), and sometimes a bigger job like the windows, whipping the walls, or mopping the floor.

    Basically, I am needing someone to come in after we leave in the morning and clean up so that I can come home and start our nighttime routine without our home being a disaster day after day. And the cooking occasionally if it interests you. We would like our workaway to enjoy cleaning and helping maintain a nice clean environment, be neat, tidiest and open to communication.

    Cooking would be very simple (only if asked to), like meal prepping for dinners, and or making dinner. We do not have food restrictions, but generally like to choose organic natural cooking when we can.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your living space would be in a 10ft by 20ft tent, pretty spacious. It has a stove top for cooking, freezer and refrigerator, and sink for dishes, washing hands and other needs, and using the rest room and showering would be inside our house. The tent is close enough to our house to catch our WiFi for internet. In Hawaii we have many critters such as mosquito's, spiders, geckos, ants, mice and much more, so if you are not insect friendly this is not for you. They are harmless but around.

    Also for FOOD:
    We offer these bulk items:
    rice
    oatmeal
    beans
    noodles
    bread
    various veggies (lettuce, cucumber, tomato, broccoli, potato)

    and during your workaway hours you can eat with us or whatever we have at the house. Any additional food you will need to provide for yourself.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Transportation is NOT the easiest. If you are not into walking, hiking, and hitch hiking this may not be the best fit for you. There is a bus system that if you get to know it it could work out, but it might only pick up and drop off once a day. The island is definitely hitch-hiker friendly for those that are comfortable with that (very common way of getting around). Walking is not the easiest because its all VERY steep and spread out and you go from flat to hills within minutes, so riding a bike would also be very difficult. From the highway to our house is a good mile all UP HILL, but very good exercise! We are willing to give rides when we are available or going in the same direction but cannot guarantee transportation. Being said, this island is very good for the adventurous soul!!! Transportation is the most difficult part and we are located in a very rural area not very close to stores and shopping.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours a week






Host ref number: 312762528729