Help us create center for sustainable living in the middle of pristine nature, near Stična, Slovenia



Favourited 83 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Good Host
  • Description


    Hi! I’m Dave. I moved to Slovenia recently, because of my two daughters, Olivia (9) and Amanita (7). I rented the farm in Planina (municipality Ivančna Gorica), where I live with my two dogs Doti and Sita.

    The farm is 5 hectares, comprising a house, a barn and a small grain store.It is surrounded with a fair stretch of meadows and forest. On one part I want to establish a garden for next year, make the barn ready to hold workshops, meetings and events and will have wild food and mushroom foraging workshops already running that you can attend for free whilst here. The house was build in 1866 and we offer basic accommodation. We are very much focussed on traditional knowledge, ancient philosophy and a sustainable future.
    So if you would like to help in any way, and learn about plants and mushrooms whilst doing so, please contact me

    I am vegan, but I can offer also vegetarian food for the guests. If needed, meat as well.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will learn about natural building, renovating and building, permaculture, organic gardening, wild herbs and mushrooms in the surroundings,...

  • Help


    Renovating the house (making a sauna ;)), picking up fruits and other gifts of the nature, making organic products and saving it for winter. Setting up a garden for next year.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We moved to the house recently, therefore we still don't have beds for all the guests. The lower floor of the house is renovated and transformed into an apartment, so bring your own sleeping mat and sleeping bag. There is one spare room where you can sleep. We have fully equipped kitchen and bathroom with washing machine. There is a lot of places around in nature, if you want to pitch your own tent. There is also an old barn if you wish to have more privacy.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Planina is a small village municipality of Ivančna Gorica. The nearest big village is Stična, which is known by the oldest Cistercian monastery, with roots back to 1132. The surrounding places have rich archaeological and cultural-historical heritage. Evidence of the settlement began at least 4000 pr. n. no on the Korinj Hill. The nearest city is Ivančna Gorica around 10 minutes away or the capital, Ljubljana, 25 minutes away by car. You can find a lot of happening there. If you want to find peace and reconnect with yourself, however, we don't advise you to go anywhere :) Our farm is located in the pristine nature, far from city hustle, so it's perfect for doing yoga, meditation and getting lost in the forest etc. Ivančna Gorica has a Railway Station connected to Ljubljana and is approximately 6km away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 311346618734