new host  

Live with a family and help them to create a nurturing space for healing in Roberts Creek, Canada

  • Favourited 31 times
  • Last activity: 14 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a loving, caring, hard working family that needs some additional help creating a nurturing space for healing as well as gardening and planting more fruit trees so we can bring more local organic produce and abundance to our community.

    We are currently not a business or working farm and we are just starting to add the necessary ingredients to moving in the direction of a small fruit farm.

    We live on 5 acres with an ocean view towards Vancouver Island and our property is nestled in the woods on the Sunshine Coast of British Columbia in the small town of Robert’s Creek.

    Creativity and health living is what we hope you will enjoy during your time with us, as our community is full of wonderful artists, craftsmen/women and healer’s of many modalities.

    We are very grateful for the opportunity to share our land and home with others individuals from around the world that truly approach life with love, optimism, awareness and generosity of spirit.

    *UPDATE FOR AUGUST 2024: We will be hosting a live event on our Property featuring an Australian duo named a Minor Gold on 31st August. So attendance will go to all the lucky Workaways that are working and staying with us in the month of August as we prepare and set the scene for this event with tidying up the property,

    The band:

    This event is not for profit, it is a fun intimate get together of our talented friends from Australia, who are willing to play for our family and friends in our community while they are visiting the Sunshine Coast.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have a diverse community of quality people who really care about how they belong in a small town, but we also have the incredible benefit of a short 40 min ferry ride to get back into the city vibe of Vancouver BC for all it has to offer.

    The opportunity to seek out the many people on the Sunshine Coast that practice in various forms of personal growth, healing and wellness gives you the added opportunity to fulfilling your own personal life work while helping us so we can do more to give back to our community.

    We have many amazing beaches all the way up the coast and they are only 5 minutes drive from our home. Plus incredible mountain biking trails, lakes, creeks and mountain swim spots all over within a short drive.

    Or just hang out and star gaze fireside at a huge clear sky from out property with almost no light pollution and walking trails in all directions.

  • Help

    Help

    We have 6 large raised garden beds that we would like to stock full of organic grown veggies, planting seeds and some weeding are needed quite soon. I am also interested in getting some blue berry plants planted and irrigation set up and a run of fencing. I have machinery here that only i will operate professionally for post holes and all heavy lifting.

    We could also use help creating a very cool trail through the woods where we will eventually be placing 2 off grid A-Frame cabins. This area needs some creative refinement and an eye for working the land with a low impact approach so the ferns and historical old growth stumps can continue to tell a story and keep the location natural and more incredible to enjoy.

    I’m a builder and would love to share my skills with anyone that wants to learn any new skills and I’m always humble to learn from your expertise, advice and shared knowledge.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a 26 ft motorhome that has just be completely updated with a full shower, new flooring, new paint, new upholstery and more storage. It sleeps 2 people up in the bunk, one at the new middle bench seat with a big table that 5 people can dine at.

    Plus it also has a dinette table that can be a dropped down into a bed as well. So you could have a both a dinner area set up full time as well as a separate desk for whatever ever your needs are.

    We will provide two options for workaway guest, one by will be to join us for meals and we can learn and teach each other new recipes from our individual experiences and cultures.

    The second option will be providing adequate quality healthy ingredients for our guests to prepare their own meals.
    This gives the option of space if both parties feel they would enjoy their own privacy during meals.

    However sharing different meals and traditional dishes would be fun as well.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I mentioned some of the things already that this incredible part of BC has to offer, you can take ferries to many of the local island for further exploration but you may just have enough fun meeting other locals at the fantastic options we have for small local cider breweries, amazing cuisine up and down the coast while taking in incredible views.

    We also have kayaks you could borrow to get out on the water and perhaps I can take you out on my boat fishing if the timing works out.

    As far as transportation, we have a bus stop just a short walk from home at the bottom of our road, and a family member could drive you in the direction you want to go if we are headed out anyways. Laundry machines are certainly available and we hope you would enjoy helping prepare and eat meals with our family at times so we could learn about each other.

    Sincerely, Nigel

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 311128425144

Feedback (2)


Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Help with springtime cleanup and gardening in Gaspésie, Canada
Help outside home landscaping and small carpentry projects in Whitehorse, Canada