Give us a hand with renovation projects in a beautiful and wild part of Brittany, France

Country

France

Favourited 23 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/09/2019

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 6: Dad, Jason, is British (from Bristol) and Mum, Aleth, is French. We have 4 boys Louis (17), Marcus (16), Jude (13) and Axel (12). We run a tea shop and boutique on the ground floor of our house and it all gets a bit busy. And it's about to get even busier because we are planning the opening of a second shop and the renovation of a house to turn it into two duplex. So although we have taken on some staff for the existing shop and the next one, we will need a extra pair of hand to help with the renovation works which Jason (whose a trained electrician) will do, but hopefully not alone! We speak English and French at home and we have a very open house!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    Help in the house
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a beautiful and wild part of Britany (France) . A little bit remote: this is why it's called a penisula. It is part of a national park and there are many things to do especialy if you like the sea. You can go for swimms in the sea, although it's not really warm, we go almost everyday in the summer, with or without wetsuits. There are many surfing beaches around where you can also take a body board. You can also hire kyaks, stand up paddles.... to go out with or without instructors. If you like walking, running or cycling, there are many paths you can follow around the coast line for example. If you want to go further afield, you can go to Brest or Quimper and there are many other small towns to visit full of caracter. July and August are the most fun months to come and enjoy the local summer life, with things like live music events every Tuesday nights.
    I could go on and on.....
    Apart from all the fun you can get out and about (weather similar to Great Britain a touch warmer, so don't expect the heat of the south of France), you can obviously discover, or improve on your French!!!!

  • Help

    Help

    Hello!
    So, the help we need is to transforme a house into two duplex and two little shops in front of the beach where we live.
    We are just about to get started with the works since we will be the official owners of the building next week.
    We are looking for people who would happily take on tasks such as: wallpaper stripping, sanding, preparation work, painting and decorating. Perhaps occasionally lifting materials and equipment. Building kitchen units, for instance, etc....
    obviously, the help required will vary as the works progress in time, in the hope that we can open the shops in May/June and start the renting season for the duplex accommodations at the same time.
    No precise experience needed, although renovation knowledge would be welcome, but lots of care and will to do a good and neat job alongside Jason.
    Looking forward to hear from you!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Spare bedroom , within our home.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We need someone who is organised, patient, with a lot of comon sense, initiative and imagination. One of the most important qualities we look for is a sense of humour!
    Here are a few more details to describe us and our lifestyle. Jason is an electrician and he has spent a lot of his time and energy in the last 5 years to restore the big house we live in. It still neeeds a bit more work but we don't live in a building site anymore :-) . I trained as an interior architect in Cardiff. I love art and design. I cook a lot in the shop, fresh cakes every day.
    We like music and we have a room in the house dedicated to it with lots of instruments: drums, guitars, piano. Louis plays mostly.
    We like watching films (DVDs) but we don't watch the television much.
    We also like old cars: we have a old 1972 vw combi.
    Although we know a lot of people here and we have many good firends, neither of us are from this area so we don't have family around to help out.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 299874542228