Become part of our hostel family here in beautiful Lofoten, Norway

Country

Norway

updated  

Favourited 1960 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 16 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there! Thanks for being interested in our project!

    We are two friends with the dream of creating a place where outdoor-minded travelers can come together and experience island life above the Artic Circle in northern Norway. We bought an old elderly home from the 50's beginning of 2019 and have the ambition to create Norway's coolest Hostel and for that, we need your help!

    Guri is 28 years old from the Westcoast in Norway and Arne 34, half German/Finnish. We both travelled a lot around the world, and love creating new connections. We spend most of our times outdoors, if that is surfing, climbing, hiking, kayaking...you name it. The hostel is our dream project and all our hard earned money is going into this.

    If you are as well into climbing, surfing, skiing or any other outdoor adventure, you will fit right into our little family here .

    To make our life a little bit easier, please write us about yourself:
    - How long would you want to join us? We enjoy having people around for longer, so they become a local and bond with the island (1-3 months), however shorter stays for specific renovation projects are possible as well.
    - What draws you to our project and what would you be excited to help us with?
    - What is it that really makes you happy? (so we get to know you a bit)
    - Have you worked as volunteer before? What are your expectations?

    Currently we are looking for a few volunteers in the following months in 2021:
    - May - June: building little sheds/benches etc, helping with gardening, housekeeping/kitchen help
    - July-August: help with events, photo&video content/social media, kitchen help
    - September-October: building things, gardening, housekeeping/kitchen help

    If you love life, the outdoors, are enthusiastic about hostel life and getting your hands dirty, please write us. We look for positive people that are energetic, smiling and excited to whatever comes our ways.

    We are looking forward hearing from you and welcome you to the islands.
    Stay safe out there and spread some positive vibes :)
    Guri&Arne

    P.S.: we love spontanous visits and if you are close by and ready to help, chances are high that we can use your help :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you haven’t been in Lofoten yet, it’s this magical place above the arctic circle, in Northern Norway. The nature here is amazing and perfect for hiking, surfing, skiing, climbing, kayaking and much more. Further, the people are friendly and easy to get along with.
    The longer you stay, the more of a local islander you become. It's not uncommon that people get stuck and never leave the islands. :)

    The fun you have will depend on how you integrate to island life. The more open you are to make new friends, the more fun you will have :) There are some amazing people around us but it's up to you get out there and join our cool community of islanders :)

    The hostel is located in the middle of Lofoten, just next to E10, the only street that goes through whole Lofoten. There are several buses passing every day. So, within the same day, you can get so many activities in and we of course want you to get the most out of this cool experience and besides the help, there will be heaps of time for you to adventure around the islands.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    There will be a variety of tasks at our large house and property we would love your help with.

    As it's a big house with many people from all around the world coming and going, we really need help with making the place cosy and clean :) If you are a person that has a smile on when doing housekeeping and enjoys the feeling to make a place ready for others to enjoy it, let us know :)

    If you are great in making breakfast and love food in general, that's amazing as well!

    Our garden needs constant maintenance and if you have experience with gardening or building small things outside, that be super cool. It's an old house and things needs to be fixed all the time :) So if you are handy and maybe have some carpentry skills, that would be super helpful.

    If you have some videography skills, that be a cool project to get into as well.


    We offer accommodation and food while you stay with us.

    When the Hostel is up and running, we can as well offer jobs with payments. Please indicate if you want to apply for a regular position.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will get your own dorm room. At times you need to share a room with one more person if the house gets full for a while. (men/women separated)

    The food we cook is vegetarian or pescatarian. We don't eat or cook meat in the hostel.
    At this stage you will cook your own food together with the others. We will make sure that the food pantry is always full ;)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Corona situation is making our operations a bit more difficult and we are not sure at this stage how the next months will be. We currently only allow workaways from Scandinavia. If you come from further away, you will need to fix your quarantine time before coming to our place ;)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Small office space available.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Spots for vans with electricity access.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Only if the animals can live outside due to allergic reasons of potential guests.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 961146477938