Permaculture farm and natural buildings in Bodrum, Turkey

  • Turkey
  • Favourited 276 times
  • Last activity: 21/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I am Cengiz. Electronic engineer (MSc) and last 4 years I have been working on natural buildings and permaculture design here (hands-on) in the farm located in Bodrum Turkey.

    The Farm is a permaculture farm with a superadobe natural building. Totally off grid. Last couple months I finally started focus on garden and applying permaculture discipline here.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    2 main things you can grasp here, natural building technics and permaculture design. We have just and slowly started applying on the land. Around 80 fruit and nitrogen fix trees has been planted and one by one I am building raised beds around them. To do so all kind of compost methods (bokashi, hot and cold) has been applying here. Besides all this daily chorus, I will be building raised beds by using sandbags. In farm we have many musical instruments like piano, guitar, drum. So if you interested in, we can practice and jam together. When we are not working, especially in summer, I mostly discover nice bays to swim and scuba diving. Not only workayers discover am ancient sea side touristic place, Bodrum, also it's villages and real Turkish culture with me.

  • Help

    Help

    For the summer season I usually work between 8-11 am and 6-8pm because of hot weather. And besides daily chorus like taking care of compostings and watering, Cleaning the house and garden, I am building raised beds by using sandbags and using hugel culture method in greenhouse. Mostly we will be working for this purpose around the land. Cleaning the area, digging and filling it with organics.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For autumn and winter seasons we have 1 bed room With double bed.
    For hot seasons, we have big tents with double beds in, so still they are really comfortable and even better temperature than inside of the house.

    We have a kitchen it the homestead. Mostly my mom drop sometime and cook for us, if workawayer has a special diet, together we can do our groceries and cook.
    So it is a must that workawayer at least needs to know how to cook for him/herself.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have internet at the farm. 30 min away from bodrum center so many touristic places, beaches, diving and etc all around

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have satellite internet with 20Mb

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have enough place for campervans and tents. Because of limited guest room I have, campervans and tent would be perfect. Of course workawayers can use all utilities and the farmstead.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have already 2 dogs 3 cats. Your pets are okay only if they are cool with other cats and dogs

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 294163186479

Feedback (8)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.6)

Cultural exchange: (4.6)

Communication: (4.6)










Join our family and help us with English in Istanbul, Turkey
Live a local experience in the heart of Cappadocia, Turkey