Help me with some outdoor projects while you discover Monchique, Algarve, Portugal




Favourited 23 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days


 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

  • Description


    Hello! I'm Derek and I live with my beloved pet, Beagle Ben, on a 1 hectare former farm in the magnificent mountain area of Monchique. I moved from Wales to Portugal in 2018 and it has been the most incredible experience of my life. The farmhouse has now been fully modernised and the next project is landscaping using eco materials and, working with the land, to create a natural paradise. I look forward to welcoming you, seeking your ideas and your support in realising my life project. To experience living in both a National Park and protected ecological zone is something to enjoy and truly appreciate.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will see the wonderful scenery of Monchique and expereience the unique mountain culture of the local people. You will stay in an area of outstanding natural beauty located in the Serra de Monchique. You will experience the historic town centre with Roman history, views from the two mountain peaks of Foia and Picota as well as hiking, bird watching and biking. There are also hot sulfur springs, with baths and health spas in 'Caldas de Monchique' (Spring of Monchique).

  • Help


    Garden design, landscaping using natural materials including stones / boulders from the land and garden manitenance including strimming, safe fires and natural water stream clearance.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am fluent in English and am currently learning Portuguese.

  • Accommodation


    Fully modernised villa with kitchen, bathroom, dining room, TV and music lounge, your own private bedroom and unlimited Wifi. Food will be provided and no need to do the dishes as dishwasher can do that job :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Great bus links to Monchique, Marmelete and Portimao and bike available for local travel. Other destinations are Lagos and Aljezur with fantastic beaches and nightlife.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I am also a teacher and often work online with students. The villa has access to reliable and unlimited Wifi.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    1 hectare of land with space for parking campervan.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 425525968671