Come and live a beautiful adventure and be part of our family at La Casa de los Monos, Mexico

Country

Mexico

Favourited 157 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/11/2019

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hola todos! We are a french-mexican family of 4 (myself Kristel, my daughter Ceiba-20 years old and my twins Sian and Kiara-13 years old) living with the lovely Yaaxka, our young and very nice german sheperd/husky. I work full time as a tour guide on the gorgeous Laguna de Bacalar in the state of Quintana Roo, Mexico. My twins are home schooled and my eldest comes and goes as her travels takes her away. We live in a gorgeous house in pure nature/jungle called Casa de los Monos because hello spider monkey! with direct access to the laguna. We are very playful and easy going.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In terms of language skills, we can teach you Spanish or French. We know how to sail and we can show you the laguna. We can also show you all the other secrets of this area like the Cenote Azul. You have direct acces to the laguna with access to a kayak and a SUP board. We can also teach you about the jungle.

  • Help

    Help

    Hello dear volunteer! I need some help with the children as i am a single mother who work a lot. I usually give them “missions” to do in the house as they are very autonomous and good at problem-solving, but i need someone who can make sure that they are done...they are 13 and very interested at their phones sometimes ;). I also need someone who can help home-schooling them (grade 13). You would also participate in our daily life which means some cooking, cleaning, washing dishes, etc.. like we all do when we live with others :) You would ideally have a driver’s license as the kids sometimes need to go places (sports) or to go grocery shopping. We would prefer a female volunteer or a couple but we are also open to male. We speak French and Spanish at home and we would like someone who speaks English so that we can all learn! If you are funny, love nature, animals, kids, the laguna and want to be part of a very welcoming and “live in the moment” family, this is for you!

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have your own room as we live on a “shared land”. This means that on the piece of land we own there is 5 small “cabins”. You would have one of them. There is a bed with matress, sheets and pillows. You will go to sleep looking at the moon and hearing the sound of crickets. We will provide your food. We do not have any food restriction (not vegetarian).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The (muddy) road to the highway is about 1 km. From there, you can either take a taxi or a “colectivo” to the pueblo. We can also drop you off with the boat when i go give a tour! Why not! In your free time, you can swim, kayak, go paddloboarding, explore the jungle, play guitar, paint, etc!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 289792723952