Become part of our friendly family in beautiful Devon (near Barnstaple), UK.

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 61 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    385

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi all you wonderful people,

    we are looking for someone to help out from April onwards with our home and become part of the family for the time of your stay. It's a great opportunity for the right person and will involve spending time with our little boy, some light house work and help with cooking.

    Do you...
    enjoy playing with a fun and adorable toddler, looking for worms in the garden, going for walks in the countryside/on the beach, eating a healthy diet and help cooking nourishing meals, have good conversations, spending time away from your phone and laptop to have real life experiences?

    Are you...
    good with little children, friendly, honest, conscientious, hard working and open-minded?
    Are you female?
    Can you stay for 4 weeks or ideally longer?
    Then please read our profile and get in touch.

    More about us:
    We are a welcoming and creative bi-lingual family (English/German) who have got a lot to offer for a helping workawayer. Rebecka is a qualified event manager and English teacher from Germany and Matt is a retired pilot who is concentrating on other projects now. We share the childcare of our little boy who is 2 years old and is going to go to a Waldorf Steiner Kindergarten next year. Matt tends to spend some time away each month.

    We love spending time with family and friends and meet new people. We are environmentally conscious and love great nutritious organic wholefood for the whole family (including meat/fish). Rebecka spends a lot of time in the kitchen preparing meals from scratch, baking bread, making broth and kefir, preparing healthy snacks and treats, etc (it's necessary due to food intolerances). It would be great to get some help with that. Otherwise, we like the seaside and camping, generally being in nature. We also love yoga, pilates & surfing if there is any time for it.

    It is quiet and remote here but so beautiful if you like being in the countryside. There are two wonderful small market towns to explore and incredible landscape all around.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love meeting new people and hearing about their lives and cultures. We offer plentiful conversation and treat our guest as a member of the family. There are lots of beautiful places to visit and we can help with transport etc.

    You could enjoy peace and naturalness of the area and our home and improve your English language skills. Rebecka is a qualified English teacher and is happy to help you if you like.

    We can help you to meet and befriend other people and travellers in our local community.

    If you want a busy city atmosphere this might not be the place for you but if you like quiet, country living in a nice house with a loving and creative family, then this is it!

  • Help

    Help

    - Spending time with our toddler when we need some time to get on with other things.
    - Helping to prepare wholesome and nutritious foods. It is important that you value a healthy diet and are able to follow recipes.
    - Helping with the house work as we try and keep on top of it. Just light cleaning, hoovering, washing up, etc. We'll all help!

    Please tell us what you are good at and enjoy doing!

    We hope anyone coming here has a responsible attitude, to looking after a child and his environment, who is flexible and hard working. We give a lot in return for you to have a happy experience with good memories.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    1 cosy double room facing the garden & own bathroom. Suits a single person.
    Organic wholefoods, most diets catered for.
    No smoking please.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are flexible with working hours if you want to go sightseeing.
    There are lots of beautiful places to visit and we can help with transport.
    Stunning Devon coastline ideal for walking, surfing beaches and National Trust places for day trips.
    Two small charming market towns closeby, Exeter (1 hour by train), London (approx. 3 hours by train), Bristol (approx. 2 hours), Taunton (1 hour)

    If you wonder why our little boys face is masked on the photos... We want him to be able to decide, when he is old enough, if he wants his photos being displayed online.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 287963388966