Help with my toddler in the wonderful medieval city of Ghent, Belgium

Country

Belgium

Favourited 48 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/08/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Former world traveler and single mother looking for help in the morning (6.30-8 am) and the evening (17.45-19.45) with Marie, 15 months old. During weekends we can go on daytrips together or go to town - I love pancakes and coffee and hope you do too.

    I volunteered around the world myself and I know how to make people feel at home abroad.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a cosy little house with a cute garden, 15 min by bike or tram from the city center of the wonderful medieval city of Ghent. During the day you can discover Ghent or neighboring cities (Bruges, Brussels, Antwerp), easy public transport access plus a bike you can use! I am a good cook for vegetarian/vegan food. I can teach you about vegan cooking. I would love to try some of your favourite dishes.

    I traveled a lot and we can share travel stories and dreams and plans for future traveling. I also used to wwoof around the world so I can tell you about this.

    I can teach you more about natural parenting, giving birth, breastfeeding. I can teach you some guitar if you like. And a plus is that my mom has a great pancakehouse in Gent, where we will go for free pancakes every weekend if you want to :-).

    I have a great library with non fiction about farming, permaculture, alternative ways of living...
    My ideal volunteer is healthy, happy, outgoing, hands-on, a traveler, with a sense of humour and a spiritual/philosophical twist. I love to host people from very different cultures, because I love to learn about other ways of living, eating, cooking.

    If you are good with computers, iphones, digital stuff, you could help me organize my digital photo albums and help me update my mac. If you can teach me another language (like Japanese), I can teach you something else.

    Long term stay is possible if we get along well. In case of a long term stay, if you would like to go to university or follow courses during the day, we can find out if this is possible.r

  • Help

    Help

    Help needed during the morning shift (6.00-8 am) and the evening shift (17.45-19.45) Mo-Fri (4hrs): cooking, helping me run the household, dress, feed and bathe Marie, bring Marie to daycare and pick her up from daycare. You have to be an early bird though, cause the day starts at 6am! I leave early and come back late so part of your work will be done autonomously. On Sat/Sund. you can help me with Marie in the morning 9-12 or in the afternoon 14-17u, but if you want to go on a day trip, just let me know and we'll organize things to go together.
    You have to be responsible and mature to do this job, and you need to have some experience with babies/toddlers. If you LOVE children, you'll be happy to be with us.
    Any others skills you have, just let me know and we can find out what the best division of tasks is.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    NL, FR, ENG, ESP, IT, PORT

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can sleep in the private living room on the sofa (it's excellent!!) or have a bed in my little office upstairs.

    Small house with small garden. Close to city and public transport. Quiet area. Bike and car available.

    No smoking. Mostly vegan food, but happy to provide meat/fish twice a week. No alcohol (or the occasional glass of wine during dinner or when we have guests). (No use of alcohol is also a general safety guideline in Belgium for people who work with children or babysit. This is also important for insurance reasons in case you or the child get hurt.)

    One MINUS: my house is very old, and the walls are thin. We can hear each other and the neighbours. This means that we need to keep it relatively quiet at night when Marie sleeps (19.30/20pm), and that you need to listen to music with headphones at night. If you want to play the guitar, the soft ballads are ideal.

    We have no digital tv, only cable tv. We have a nice radio system with a good reach. We have high speed internet (wifi and cable).

    Car and bike available for use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Ghent is a beautiful city, with interesting musea, coffee bars, lots of students, parties...Closeby are Brussels, Antwerp for daytrips. Train, tram, bus are nearby. We could go on daytrips together during the weekend. The area is quiet, with a little park and trees.

    Neighbours know each other and everyone is friendly. I have a big family, so if you want to hang out with people your age, I can certainly introduce you to some people. Ghent is a student town and there is always stuff going on.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 7 days a week


Host ref number: 286674578153