Adventure in Australian countryside.



Favourited 21 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Facebook verified
  • Description


    G'day, my name is Daniel, some people call me Dan or Danny, whatever works. I have just started camping on 100 acres of land in Wallangra, New South Wales, Australia located near the NSW/QLD border.

    I grew up in Sydney and lived in Brisbane for a number of years before travelling abroad and then some of Australia after returning home again. I am 36 years old and am learning to play the didgeridoo. I enjoy arts, crafts, reading and photography.

    I have decided to trade up city living for the countryside and have purchased some land with no running electricity or water. I have purchased a few tanks and shed which I am currently setting up and have a two man tent with mattress and sleeping bag for guests to stay in.

    Going to the toilet requires a shovel at the moment, soon there will be a bucket with seat and lid. Food is cooked by the campfire, I have just purchased a 12v fridge and have a solar set up to store food and water in, phones can be charged as well as camera batteries, electric razors also work with the set up.

    I won't lie, it is rough, I am enjoying the challenge. I am living there alone with my dog Riley, friends come to visit, but for the most part it is just goats, emus, kangaroos and wallabies that keep me company throughout the day if Riley doesn't chase them away.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers will get an opportunity to reconnect with the land and get a slight glimpse into how our ancestors had to live with no electricity or running water. Unless you have a vehicle, walking to town (or riding once some bikes are organised) will be the only way to resupply.

    Kwiambal National Park is a 30 minute drive away from the land where you will be camping. In Kwiambal NP is the MacIntyre Falls and Limestone Caves plus many walking tracks.

    I hope to have people from all over the world come to stay and explore, I recently had my first guest from Italy a friend I met while travelling. Brisbane is 4 and half to 5 hours drive north east from Wallangra. Sydney is 9 hours South East. Byron Bay/Coast is about 4 to 5 hours drive, so there are plenty of backpacker destinations to come from and go to along your journey however long you choose to stay.

    The area where I am is Gamilaraay country, broken up into smaller groups based on the language spoken by the Indigenous people. Wallangra is where Ngarabal and Kamilaroi people lived, Bigambul people are to the north. There is a rich indigneous history in the area, many languages were spoken in and around Wallangra by the indigenous people sharing the land.

    There are places to explore where the Bushranger 'Thunderbolt' roamed in the early days of settlement further south (about a 2 hour drive one way), his cave/hideout and grave. If you head even further south there is another one of his hideouts as you approach Armidale.

    Cattle and sheep are the main animals being farmed around the area, volunteers with a car can possibly find work sheering sheep (if you have experience). Some other farm work is available, it would require checking notice boards in towns and meeting people and asking around, it is possible if you try.

  • Help


    I have ticked many things I will require assistance with to clear land in preparation for camping, building a Base Camp/Shed for campers and volunteers to unite around when cooking, eating and sharing their stories and experiences.

    I will require assistance with organising ingredients and preparing meals.

    The land has no buildings/structures or facilities, those wanting to volunteer I have a tarpoline to use as cover and set up a two man tent underneath with a double mattress and sleeping bag.

    I am flexible regarding hours and choices, please contact me to discuss any questions you may have regarding the help required for camping agreement.

    I do not have internet access because I do not have a smart phone, but internet access is available to those with smart phones and connected with Telstra and Optus has been known to work where I am camped, Vodafone does not.

    There is internet access at the post office 10 minutes drive into town and a cafe next door.

    If you do not have a vehicle, I can pick you up from Moree, NSW train station or Casino, NSW. You can also catch a bus to Inverell, NSW and this would be the closest point of pick up.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    2 Man Tent with awning, double mattress and sleeping bag. The only comfort will be what you can carry and if you are expecting 5 star accommodation you are looking in the wrong place. Water is limited, showers are possible (limited rations so use wisely). There is a dam in the neighbours lot to cool off in and I go to the local spots nearby also (waterfall/rivers and creek).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you feel you can contribute something and are happy with a place to camp in exchange for some of your time and effort this is a place where you can do that. I cannot afford to pay but I can assist in providing some food and water during your stay.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, duties include collecting fire wood, cooking and gardening/manual labor.

Host ref number: 284846242272