Enjoy good company on our scenic farm with river views! New South Wales, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 78 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our family consists of Ferg, Jules, Raphael (4yrs) Dougal (3yrs) and Sebastian (1yrs) and we live on a 200 acre farm where we run Angus cattle. We live ten minutes out of Glen Innes which is a small country town located approximately 4.5hrs drive from Brisbane, 3.5 hours drive from Toowoomba and Byron Bay.

    Prior to having children, we enjoyed adventuring around but since the arrival of our three delightful baby boys, we have had to reign it in so we see workaway as a great opportunity to enjoy some of the aspects of cultural exchange while being fixed in the one place.

    Fergus is very involved with the boys as well as juggling the farm and off farm employment while Jules is at home raising three little boys.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our house has a beautiful view of the Mann River and we are keen to share this wonderful corner of the world with visitors. Whether it be sheep races, festivals, agricultural shows, the local area has plenty of entertaining community events which will provide visitors with unique insights into rural Australia.

    We have lived and worked in a number of other regional towns across Queensland and the Kimberley (WA) and have lovely friends all over Australia who could be useful contacts for visitors' future travels across the continent. Having lived and traveled widely abroad, we are very keen to return our hospitality to the "Globe trotter's well of good karma"!

    If visitors are wanting to learn, Fergus can share his knowledge and experience with farming and stud cattle. Jules has a TESOL certificate and experience teaching.

    While access to international travel as a young family is fairly limited, we are also very keen to learn from our visitors about their culture and where they come from

  • Help

    Help

    There's many different ways our family could benefit from some help but more specifically any assistance with reading stories to our boys and playing games outside with them, meal preparation, cleaning and other household chores would be greatly appreciated. There's also always plenty of work to be done around the garden too. Although we are trying our best to raise children fairly free range and low maintenance, a tolerance for young children and a genuine desire to engage with them is essential.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Visitors will stay in a room at other end of the house to the rest of us. All meals included. Although we don’t have wifi, reliable internet can be accessed through mobile reception and in town. The summers are beautiful but the winters are chilly.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Come and enjoy some fresh air, peaceful scenic views and feel welcome as a part of our little growing family in the countryside! There’s lots of beautiful little towns and national parks to explore all within an hours drive.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hours 6 days a week







Host ref number: 284395673616