Join our family and help with some gardening and fruit trees in Sinca Noua, Romania

Country

Romania

Favourited 24 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello good people! We are George and Daniela and 2 kids: Ioan -11 years old and Alexandru- 5 years old. We are living in a village named Sinca Noua, Brasov District. We moved from Bucharest 11 years ago, to begin a new life, away from sistem as much as possible. In some way we succeeded, some way ... steel working on :) ... We set up a Bio berry farm (blackberries, raspberries, strawberries) in Sinca Veche village, 10 km from our home, on a heavenly land. We dream of moving there completely ... some day ... We would like to share our story with you and learn from yours. We are happy to meet shiny people who enjoys being in nature, working with her in gratitude.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can share from our experience of downshifting from city to village.
    For me it was a time to discover my joy of painting at the age of 38.
    For George, working the land meant gardening his own soul. I am convinced that he is happy to share with you his experience in starting a berry farm.
    Last but not least, the closeness to the essential values ​​of life, spiritual growth are important issue for us.
    We are aware that we are deeply connected to each other and that together we can evolve.

  • Help

    Help

    We are grateful for any help :

    On our berry farm:
    - weeding,
    - fruit picking (from July 20 to September 10)
    - producing of marmalade
    - cutting the plants of blackberries
    - to build up new lines of plants
    - applying mulch of straw and fertilize with humus

    On our garden:
    - weeding and applying mulch of straw
    - planting seeds and fruit trees
    Even though we are still traditionally gardening, we are interested in switching to permaculture.

    Building different household annexes:
    - compost toilet and sink place
    - outside shower
    - carpentry rustic garden furniture. Carpentry skills are very welcome
    - summer kitchen (in the future)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Romanian: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation can be with a tent if you want to live in nature, at the farm, with the mention that for the time being the toilet and the shower have to be built.
    You can also choose to stay in our house from Sinca Noua, where we have a bedroom with a double bed, a room with a bed and a living room with 1 bed and space for another double mattress. You have access to a bathroom with shower and to the kitchen.
    2 or 3 meals a day - depending on your needs. We use to eat twice a day, but of course, everybody has its own biorhythm. For example, our kids eat only one a day: from the morning till night :)
    We'll make all necessary ingredients available, so you you can prepare your own food.
    Within the time available, we would like to cook for you, simply because we both love to do that. However, from our experience, in the harvest months (July 20, September 10) we hardly find time for cooking.
    In the mornings we like to eat seasonal fruit mostly. We are not vegetarian but mostly we eat vegetarian food. We can buy milk, cheese and eggs from the villagers, if you like.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our farm is nearby The Rupestral Monastery of Șinca Veche - a place of prayer over 7,000 years old, according to some sources. This place invite to meditation.
    We are also close to The national park Piatra Craiului and Fagaras Mountains. 30 km away you can find the Bran Castle and the Fortress of Rasnov.
    You can reach us from Brasov city, or Fagaras city, from where you can take the bus to Baile Persani, from where we can pick you up by car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have wi-fi only at home, at Sinca Noua.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Poate fi parcata orice fel de rulota doar la plantatie, in Sinca Veche, unde nu avem curent electric, iar apa o aducem cu bidoane de la o distanta de 1 km de mers cu masina. Acasa in Sinca Noua nu avem spatiu pentru rulota.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 283354833285