Help at our family farm in Gilbert Plains, Manitoba, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 69 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/06/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My wife and I farm in Gilbert Plains, Manitoba, Canada.We have farmed for 35 plus years and have have 3 grown children. We run a small grain operation and a larger cow calf operation. We take a holistic approach in our farming practices and conservation is very important to us.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Participants will gain knowledge in holistic management, animal husbandry, maintaining of crops grown in a sustainable matter, organic gardening, operating farm equipment (ATVs), etc.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Help would involve:
    moving cattle from paddock to paddock
    seeding grain land
    putting up hay
    maintaining electric fences
    gardening
    yard care
    carpentry work

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bedrooms are located upstairs with a separate 2 piece bathroom facility. Kitchen is shared and participants help in small household duties. Also camper is available if one wishes to use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located between the Riding Mountain National Park and Duck Mountain Provincial Park. There is an abundance of fishing, boating, water skiing, camping, local country fairs, and farmers markets. Twenty miles away is the larger community of Dauphin with an annual music festivals such as: Countryfest, Ukrainian Festival. Dauphin also has a larger shopping centre and numerous grocery stores and shops.


    We will provide a vehicle that they can use locally to visit the sites and friends that they will make.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 282786361221