Help on my project while enjoying Italian hills, olives, wine, music in Citta della Pieve, Italy

  • Italy
  • Favourited 234 times
  • Last activity: 31 Mar 2023




  • Description


    Hello everyone! My name is Dominik, I was born in Hungary, and I am 25 years old. I recently decided to leave my life and flat in Budapest, and move to the beautiful Italian medieval city of Citta della Pieve.
    Why did I decide to settle down here? That's easy to answer: I have been dreaming of creating a community centre in the Italian countryside since I was a kid. After I graduated from my university studies in England (Warwick), I have been working in many different areas: film, private healthcare, marketing, journalism, car engineering, art trading, culture. I was thinking why not do all of them at the same time? So here I am, starting my own project, for which I need quiet a lot of help. But where am I? The estate, which is approximately 2 kilometres from the city centre, consists of a 400 square meter villa, some side-buildings and 5 hectares of land. There is more than 200 olive trees, all kind of fruit trees, grapevines and so on. I am planning to build an art studio for residents, a small bistro, clean the terrain around the olives and plant all kind of vegetables.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I live in the Umbrian hills, just next to the border of Tuscany. The city itself is magnificent with around 9000 citizens, and especially lively in the summer period and on weekends. I don't live here for too long, so you can discover the area and Italian culture with me. A part from that, I speak hungarian, english, french and a little bit of italian, so if you feel like learning any of these languages, you're very welcome here. On the other side, I have been writing short stories and novels and doing all kind of creative projects in the past, so we can create something together and learn from each other.

  • Help


    Daily 4-5 hours of help would be very helpful. You can of course do what you feel like and what suits you most. There are many things to do around the house.
    But here are my plans to get a better image:
    1. Transform the outside buildings to a community space with a bar, an art studio, a kitchen and bedrooms.
    2. Create a vegetable garden for self-sustainability
    3. Clean up underneath the olive trees and weed the garden
    4. Make the house comfy to live and most importantly to bring some art into it

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Hungarian: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    The house consists of 4 floors, from which 2 are constantly rented out. I almost always have a friend around in the house, but I live here alone. Each of the floors have 3 bedrooms, so you will most probably have your own bedroom as well. In case there are too many people in the house, you might have to share a room with someone.
    I love cooking, and I usually cook for myself. I will provide you as much food, as I usually do for myself. However, you will be free to use everything you find around the house. I am not vegan, neither vegetarian, but I cook meat-free dishes very often. Eggs will be frequent, as I am planning to keep chickens in the garden.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It's quiet easy to get here, as almost all national trains stop in the nearby train station (Chiusi-chianciano Terme).
    And there are many many places to visit by train too:
    -Perugia: 50 minutes by train
    -Rome: 1 hour 30 minutes by train
    -Florence: 1 hour 15 minutes by train
    -Orvieto: 30 minutes by train.
    There are bikes in the garage, and I also have a car to pick you up from the train station.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 576174971591

Feedback (2)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help with our animals and daily life in Ostuni, Italy
Home and gardening help close to the beautiful village of Apricale, Italy