Quadra Island farm stay in Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 59 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/11/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our farm has been in my husband's family for 40 years, and currently has goats, sheep, turkeys and chickens. With a big orchard, an extensive vegetable garden and greenhouse there are always lots of things to do! This year we are starting a new farm business growing produce for market and we could use some help with the garden. If you are more of a build it kind of person, we always have ditching, new eaves that need installing, fence lines that need moving, barn renovations, and new chicken tractors than need constructing. We work hard, eat well and live a drama free life with 2 respectful and engaging kids (7 and 14), 2 dogs and 3 mainly outdoor cats. Our house is drama, smoke and drug free please.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Between us we have a wealth of knowledge about animal husbandry, soil building, gardening and food preservation. Bryce is a very experienced woodsman, and has hiked or canoed most anywhere you can think of in BC. If you want to know anything about life in the back country,he is your guy! Tara is often busy in the garden, or kitchen, and spends a lot of time making cheese and delicious food. We are both university educated and have made a conscious choice to live in a way that supports our ethical beliefs and the protection of our environment.

  • Help

    Help

    Experience isn't essential but a good attitude and initiative is! We have found that it works best for us if people are able to work fairly independently (we will show you how, don't worry!) and organize their own time

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a private room available in our home or if you prefer, some very nice tenting spots on the property. During the summer months, we are careful about our water usage.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Rebecca Spit Provincial Park is a 15 minute walk from the front door, and we are also close to great hiking trails, ocean and mountain biking.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Flexible 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Spring in the orchard
This is us
I love our driveway!
The sheep family
Harvest!
We have a small herd of dairy goats
From the topp of Chinese Mountain hiking trail
The ferry to Quadra Island

Host ref number: 282686672584