Happy, wild and beautiful off-grid farmstay in Estonia

Country

Estonia

updated  

Favourited 23 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey

    My name is Simone. I am 33 and originally from Germany. I bought my beautiful piece of heaven in the wild south east of Estonia in June 2017 with the plan to build an off-grid, as self-sustainable as possible traveler community and a youth art centre.
    After working and living and saving money in Melbourne/Australia for 7 months I took the first baby steps towards turning this dream into reality last summer (2018) and built a wooden cabin. I also got a pond dug out, planted some fruit trees and made willow fences around the garden area.
    There is still lots to do and I would be very happy to get some help and meet some interesting travelers who somehow made it to this remote part of the world. So if you are a keen builder, gardener or adventurer with community spirit and a passion for simple living please stop by. Potential jobs/things to do would be helping with building a greenhouse, plastering the inside walls of the house with clay, making clay bricks, looking after the garden, cutting down small trees, enjoying a swim in the nearby lake, going for a bike ride, trying the local smoke sauna, going berry hunting in the forest, making music, being creative... If you are interested in sustainable building, gardening and simple off-grid living this is the place to get some hands on experience in how to set it up.
    I have volunteered myself many times before and I am quite flexible when it comes to hours and tasks.
    Just to make sure that you know what to expect: Half of the land is covered by beautiful forest, the rest is grassland. It is very peaceful and wild. If you love nature you will not want to leave again. But there is no toilet, no electricity, no running water and no wifi on the property.
    I have two dogs and 5 chickens.
    At the moment I am working a lot in town, so you would mainly work by yourself. Of course I have time to have dinner together and maybe do some fun stuff while I am off work, but when I am working I need you to sort out your own breakfast and lunch and be ok with working and being here by yourself.
    Accommodation will be in my new summer cabin. I eat mainly meat free and dumpster dive all of my vegetables. There is a public shower at my neighbors place that we can use as well as a washing machine and wifi. It's an 8 min walk away. The next smaller town is scenic Rõuge and Võru is about 20 min away. There are busses running daily to my place.

    Please message me if you have any questions. Otherwise I am looking forward to welcoming you at my still pretty bare but beautiful piece of land.

    Aitäh ja nägemist!
    Simone

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My farm Kopli is situated in a very beautiful but remote part of Estonia. Customs and traditions are still very much alive. The nature is wild. You can feel free, enjoy a swim in the nearby lake, go for a bike ride, try the local smoke sauna, go berry hunting in the forest, make music, listen to beautiful local music, be creative, see some wildlife... If you are interested in sustainable building, gardening and simple off-grid living please stop by.

  • Help

    Help

    At the moment the main jobs are plastering the inside walls of my house with clay plaster I mix from my own clay and making clay bricks. I also wanna build a greenhouse from old windows. So they need to be sanded off. Little jobs are feeding the chickens, weeding, watering the plants, getting firewood out of the forest, washing the dishes and the like.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation will be either in my new summer cabin. Dinner we will have together but you will also have your own cooker.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Rõuge is the next bigger little town and is very picturesque with its beautiful lakes. I am also close to the Haanja and Karula Nationalpark and Estonias hightest mountain, the Suur Munamägi. Well, it’s more of a hill though ;)
    There is tons of forest around with lakes and rivers and wildlife.
    Võru is the closest „real city“ and has a beach on it’s big lake and a pretty nice spa.
    You can catch a bus to Võru from Tallinn and I can pick you up from there. Or if you are coming from Riga, there are trains and busses to Valga and Ape.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 654743623469