Help on a hobby farm in Duncan, Canada

  • Canada
  • Favourited 77 times
  • Last activity: 27 May 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    We are a small group of friends whom recently moved to an abandoned hard farm in the Cowichan Valley, Vancouver Island. Surrounded by lavender, hibiscus, sage, lemon balm, we are working hard to uncover and rejuvenate the land here. We know the soil beyond the blackberries and scotch broom is rich and ready to be nourished, and will easily be abundant! We are cleaning, clearing, and gardening every day. We also raise chickens, Nigerian dwarf goats, I have 2 horses and mini donkey, and 2 big fluffy white dogs and a few cats. We put in a good honest days work, then enjoy the evening socializing with the animals and fellow humans on the land. Our focuses here are permaculture, regernative agriculture, and sustainable land management practices. We feel passionately about this time in humanity, and the growing urgency to be more self sufficient, also we try our best to keep it fun!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn about gardening, sustainable land practices, basic carpentry, and animal husbandry. We also have a deep interest in spirituality and natural healing.

  • Help


    We are looking for help mostly on our land, clearing out old debris, prepping garden beds for planting fruit trees and veggies. We may ask for help with cooking and house hold tasks a couples times a week, but not daily.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Interested in learning Portiguese

  • Accommodation


    We have a bunk house on the property with 4 small private rooms, a large common room, pool table, shower and kitchenette. We will eat some meals in the main house and social time there, which has a woodstove and covered deck.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are centrally located on Vancouver island. Easy to travel to Victoria, Vancouver, Salt Spring by ferry or seaplane.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a flat concrete pad, or gravel to park an rv. Ample power hook ups and water supply on the land

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 282124347833

Feedback (3)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.0)

Communication: (4.5)

Help in my garden and handyman skills in my beautiful home in Victoria BC, Canada
Join us and get a rare opportunity to experience Ocean Falls, BC, located in the Great Bear Rain Forest, Canada