updated  

Farm stay & help with gardening in Chiapas, Mexico

  • Favourited 13 times
  • Last activity: 17 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Project we are looking forward to do :
    1. Building chicken coop
    2. Carpentry work such making table, bench and shelves
    3. Construction work to build cabana
    4. If you have knowledge on creating vegetables garden from scratch, seeding etc

    Hello we are mix family : Ritney from Indonesia, Luch from Italy and two boys Niko 10yo and Leon 5yo. We are homesteading in 4 hectares rancho/farm with mango trees, 10 km from the beach named Puerto Arista in Chiapas coast Mexico.
    We would like to be self sustainable. We creating organic farm with no chemical use on the land.
    We also unschooling our children. Although we are more inclined to host small family with children for my children to interact with, single person or couple is also welcome.

    Although I don't require minimum stay, I'm limiting to 1 week stay in our rancho, the reason is to give us a break also to give a chance for others applicant to experience farm living. But then again if we are happy with each other, we can discuss the length of your stay for both parties convenience.

    If you are native Italian, you can help my children to study because all of their books are in Italian.

    This area is well-known for their livestock such cows, locally made fresh cheese, fish, shrimp and prawns. Many affordable local restaurants serves dishes made from shrimp and fish.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'll experience organic homestead living. You can converse with us and our children in 3 different language. You can enjoy seaside living and farm living at the same time.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like help on :
    *Gardening basically clear the weeds, tilling the soil, watering the plants.
    *Planting fruit tree, only in raining season (June-Oct)
    *Wooden fence fixing
    *Cutting the bushes with machete
    *Any general maintenance around the property
    *If you are Italian native, you can help my children to study

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Indonesian: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll be staying in our guest house with kitchen, fridge, bathroom etc by yourself. I can't cook for you as I still have small children to take care of.
    Basic goods will be provided such rice, sugar, coffee tea, cooking oil, eggs etc. When it's mango season you are welcome to enjoy the mango as much as you want.
    Smoking is not allowed inside the house, you can smoke outside.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The beach is 10km away, straight road. You can take public transport for 30pesos one way (about 1.50euro). The town with supermarkets is also 10km away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    You can park your campervan any size, we have the space. You can use our bathroom and shower. But you can't dump your septic in our property.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    So long your pets can get along with ours. But pets not allowed inside the guesthouse. Our pets stay in the outside patio so does your pets.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 279844279633

Feedback (1)

Feedback


Support in agriculture, gardening or education in a community of Ocozocoautla Chiapas, Mexico
Live the full jungle experience with us in Flor de Chiapas, Mexico