Help us with our young, innovative ecological and social project in the region of Bliesgau in Saarland, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 73 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi!! You´re welcome to help us with our young, innovative ecological and social projekt in the region of Bliesgau in beautiful Saarland in Germany.

    We are a small community of 6 adults, 5 kids, 4 donkeys, 2 horses, 3 dogs, 3 cats, many chickens and many many wild animals like bees, frogs, butterflies, owls and so on.
    The region of Bliesgau is a a biosphere reserve in the state of Saarland in Germany. There, inside a small village we own three houses and lots of garden space.
    We are growing vegetables together and want to become a CSA sometime. Still we´re not and "just" experiencing, learning what it means to build a community; spending our time together working, eating, laughing, being!
    It´s different in the winters and in the summers. It´s more quiet and kind of cozy winter life with time for contemplation and introspection. Therefor work outside most time is more tough because of the cold and such. In summers we usually spend more time together and there´s more work because of the garden season beginning with spring and with good weather there are more opportunities for projects and the things that need to get done; also more coming together and celebrating our wonderful life.
    So every season is unique and special. The countryside is so beautiful in every time of the year and we often just marvel how wonderful it is to live in such a beautiful place with so much nature around.
    Come and stay with us for a while :)


    Especially in summer times it could be that we need some days to answer your messages, thank you for understanding :)

    Available times currently are (could be that its not perfectly updated):


    >> Right now we will take a break here thru the winter this year with Workaway and see what going on next spring.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can lern a lot about horti- and permaculture, social projects with young people and animal keeping. The Bliesgau is a wonderful region with plenty of nature and our village is small and very beautiful. There are busses going to the next city Blieskastel; an old and cozy baroque town. Saarbrücken, the main city of the Saarland you can also easily reach by bus or can come with us if we´re driving there. You can also use our bicycles so you can explore the region on your own.
    As we are about 15 human beings living quite close together, there are often many people and friends going in and out and in those times there´s usually always somebody to socialize. But of course there are also times where everyone of us is enganged with own stuff and if you per example come by at a time where we don´t have other helpers, it´s also a good thing when you feel comfortable with yourself and don´t have a need to be kept busy.
    There´s also much to learn about yourself as you will spend a much time in nature, with the animals and within the community processes.

  • Help

    Help

    You are helping us in our Permaculture garden - cultivation, compost, sowing, planting and plant care, general garden help. Harvesting, preparing daily dishes of mainly vegetarian food, food preservation.
    Depending on your interests and abilities you are supporting us in our daily work and projects at the farm or in the other houses. There are some works where we don´t work in a team and we wish for helpers who can also work independently.

    This year we renovate one of our houses and have a few other projects like finishing our big Hugelbeet. We need some strong and skilful people to help this year and would be glad, if you want to join us for a preferably long stay.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    deutsch, englisch, portugiesisch

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a cozy caravan in the yard, where you can hear the night birds and the chickens in the mornings or a guest room in the house for your stay. We are currently renovating one house and building a new guest room there too.


    We´re usually eating the lunch together. For breakfast and dinner we fill your fridge with everything you need from store and you can harvest what you need from the garden.
    Sometimes we meet in the evenings too and coming together and eat, making Pizza evenings and such. We have vegetarian people & non veggie people around here, most time we cook veggie but there are also days, where you can choose between.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 276638831438