Enjoy the Ottawa Valley Country Lifestyle, Canada



Favourited 51 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    This is an 80 acre hobby farm close to Algonquin Park, right by a small river called the Indian River. A beautiful place, a labour of love and a work in progress. We have 2 senior horses, 2 dogs & 4 cats for company and to take care off, grass to cut, firewood to prepare, snow to shovel during the winter, and always some projects on the go as the farm consists of a couple of older log & wood buildings that still need some TLC. There is lots to do and see in the surrounding area. Working hours are flexible and independence & self reliance is required. We are in a remote area with no public transport, so if you'd like to venture out, you would need a vehicle.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get to learn about life & living in the boonies, depending on your interests you might pick up some handy skills and have the chance to meet and interact with local people. There are many small towns, villages and other attractions in the area that you could visit and lots of opportunities to join into local activities. We are bilingual and speak english & german.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    If you love nature you will probably love it here. You need to be flexible and able to help out wherever it's needed, depending on the time of the year. We would appreciate help with maintenance work, like house-cleaning, cutting grass, watering plants, cleaning the horse shelter, feeding dogs & cats, keeping the weeds down and the property clean and organized. Shovelling snow and keeping the wood-stove going in the winter-time. There might also be firewood to cut and split. Most of the time we have a project on the go, right now 2 buildings are in the process of getting new roofs and there will be some outside wood work that has to be done. Inside are some smaller varnishing and painting jobs that are due. Lots of time for evening bonfires, dips in the river, hanging out with the animals, discovering the surrounding area or taking a day or weekend trip from here. Mostly, your working hours are flexible and sometimes we have weekend projects on the go. As we are not home every day all day, it is required that you are able to work independently.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You will have a small bed-room with a closet & a queen sized bed in the house. The kitchen/ living room, laundry, etc. is open for you to use. We are happy to fill up the fridge, but you have to cook yourself. It's great for a couple or 2 good friends travelling together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The possibilities for adventures are endless here. We are very remote and if you'd like to discoverer the area, your own vehicle would be required.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours per week

Host ref number: 274824224991