A Canadian experience of family, fun, nature, and adventures. Manitoba

Country

Canada

Favourited 23 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are the Thibodeau Family!

    We are a very fun and loving family. We love art, music, community and creating experiences that help people live their best lives. We are looking for people that share the same energy to come and experience our culture, our family, and help us make the world a little better and more beautiful place.

    We have three amazing girls, Rylee (13), Fia (10), and Araya (8), a dog (Bruce), and a few other little pets.

    We live on 80-acres which we like to call an experience farm. We moved here after falling in love with the land seven years ago. The land is set up beautifully, with a swimming pond, raised gardens, trails, and most recently a full-out festival and campground site! We also have a hot tub that we enjoy regularly. We call it the experience farm because we create great experiences here.

    We are working professionals that mostly work from the home office. We are actively leading some amazing community and not for profit projects (I Am Festival, momondays, Real Love Summer Festival).

    We would love extra help to keep everything running smoothly, from house projects to working with us in our community initiatives.

    We are quite social with many visitors, especially in the spring, summer, and fall. We love music and are quite ingrained in the festival and music scenes in Manitoba. We've had nanny's in the past and had friends live with us for extended periods, so this isn't a new concept for us.

    We believe we can offer someone a tremendous experience enjoying the beauty of the land and being a part of our community! We take an inclusive approach to family and would warmly welcome a guest.

    We can provide access to a vehicle, and our arrangement would include full room and board.

    Mostly a non-smoking environment, smoking is not allowed in the house or vehicles.

    We do drink socially, and we enjoy life to its fullest.

    We look forward to finding a match!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Canada is an abundant and diverse place to experience. Manitoba is part of the prairies, which is knowns for its vast flat landscape, its rivers and lakes, and its beautiful summers. Manitoba winters typically see lots of snow and you would experience the cold temperatures of a real Canadian winter (this is not for everyone).

    A cultural exchange specifically with our family would give you the opportunity to experience the life and lifestyle of a working family that believes in living life to its very fullest. We are surrounded with a strong community of friends that are loving, fun, and constantly supporting each other.

    The Thibodeau's are immersed in the vibrant arts and music scene in Manitoba, so your experience would include this. We love music, we host house concerts, festivals, and family events that promote community and connection and you would be a part of this.

    We are also students of lifelong learning, as life and business coaches, your experience would have the opportunity to hear our story and lean on us with any questions you'd like to explore.

    You'll also get to experience the world through the eyes of three very diverse and awesome children. There is something to be said about the many things that can be learned and experienced with children.

  • Help

    Help

    We would love extra help to maintain the house, land, and keep things running smoothly. Depending on the season this may include: maintaining the gardens, help with general household chores and maintenance, interaction with the kids as a contributing part of a loving family, and general contribution to creating great experiences. Ideally, you have a valid drivers license.

    If you had interest in it, you would have the opportunity to get involved with some of our not-for-profit work projects as they are a major part of our life, where you would contribute to creating great experiences for others.

    We are life-long learners and would be happy to share what we've experienced with anyone that may benefit from it.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, very small amount of french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on the season. In the winter, you would be set up with your own space in either our home office area (which is 26x26) or more likely directly in the house with us (we are in the process of creating another bedroom). In the spring, many options open up, as we have a darling beach house that is comfortable, provides a completely separate and private space. In the past, this is where our long-term guests have stayed.

    Food is included as part of your experience, assuming this is your choice. We are not vegan or vegetarian; however, we have had a vegetarian live with us for a summer. We do our best to be health conscious; however, there is definitely room for improvement.

    We are fortunate to have some grand-parents that fill our freezer with some deliciousness! Our oldest daughters loves to bake, Maurice loves to cook, and we are open to a variety of foods.

    We'd discuss food responsibilities together and make a plan that makes sense for everyone.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Winnipeg is the nearest large city, only 45 minutes away, with many attractions, including a world-class zoo that features a polar bear habitat. . The arts and culture scene and the community of people are the other highlights we feel are most worthy to mention.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 273413867275