Help with the kids and constructions on our farm in Uppsala Län, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 197 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!

    We are a young family of five; the parents Kristoffer (born -87) and Caroline (born -91) and our three kids Lea (born July -17), Lex (born May -19) and Lova (born June -21). In 2016 we decided to move from our 43 sqm apartment in Stockholm and out to a farm with 44 hectares of land just outside of Enköping.

    Here we are trying to live a self sufficient life by growing a lot of vegetables by ourselves, raise a few chickens for eggs and meat, some summers we have pigs for meat and we also have a cat for meat. No just kidding, the cat is just to keep the mice away, and for cuddling of course.

    On the farm there is also ten houses that need attention. Some of your work might therefore involve different kind of construction work, everything from painting with linoil paint, putting in a clay floor, or fix a complete new roof on a house.

    We grow everything organic, with no pesticides or artificial substances. What we don't grow we buy organically and as local as possible. We rather don't buy something than buy it non organic.

    We try to do everything ourselves. Cooking from basic ingredients, preserving what we can. We build and renovate everything by hand and try to do it as naturally as possible without new strange materials, "byggnadsvård" in Swedish. We also try to reuse as much as possible.

    All five of us are home during the days working at the farm and taking care of our children, and we wish you to be a part of that as well, doing what needs to be done, helping with everything from cooking, gardening, building and taking care of our children. The children is a big part of our life, and we wish them to be a big part of yours as well.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love different cultures and languages, and have been to somewhere around 50 different countries ourselves. We love to exchange and share cooking experiences and teach you any swedish that you can manage. Our kids are a great way to try your Swedish as they don't speak English yet.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help taking care of our three lovely kids, mostly just playing with them and giving them attention. They love volunteers and usually you haven't gotten your jacket off before Lea has dragged you to the playroom to show you her toys.

    We also need help with everything else needed in the farm, mainly construction work and gardening.

    We just purchased the neighboring farm as well, a rundown abandoned place for the last 30 odd years. One of the houses is in total ruines and we want to restore it and the other houses to it's former glory. That means we now own a good 15 houses on our property which all need our attention.

    We grow vegetables in two places. One patch of around 200 sqm, and another one of about 1000 sqm. Depending on the season, that means we need help preparing the soil, put seeds in the ground, weed, water, harvest or preserve the harvest. There is almost always something that can be done.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    We love to speak swedish with you. Our kids don't speak English so they will try to teach you swedish where they can. Otherwise a good English level is required.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will live in the guesthouse 30 meters from our house. But it's still under renovation, meaning it's missing a kitchen but we just put in a toilet in there. You are also welcome to share our toilet in the big house, or use the outdoor one.

    We have two rooms working in the guesthouse, both with a king-size bed, radiators and fireplaces.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live quite isolated. There are no buses or other transportations close to our farm, so we'd like it if you enjoy being out in the nature and don't crave the city life, because we don't have it here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a good parking area on the farm, and can provide both water and electricity.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Flexible, but expect 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. Plus cooking and cleaning after meal times.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)











Host ref number: 188532588454